Virtual PC come with Windows?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mazmaximus, Jan 29, 2003.

  1. mazmaximus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    #1
    Let me preface this post with the fact that I am a Mac novice and have just recently made "the switch" from PC. In that vain I've found it impossible to totally abandon my former "home" even as antiquated as it is and have a few questions about Virtual PC.

    Could someone tell me if VPC comes with a version of Windows included or do I have to load for example, XP on top of it?

    Also, I have a 1G PowerBook running Jaguar 10.2.3 and I'm wondering if any particular version of Windows runs better on Jaguar or are they all the same?

    Thanks I appreciate any responces.
    MAC RULES!

    mazmaximus
     
  2. morlium macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    #2
    VPC comes in different flavors, i.e. you can chose the primary OS upon purchase.

    However, you can install anything you'd like, so long as it's compatible with MS DOS.
     
  3. libobbes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    #3
    VPC6

    I have VPC6 on my mac at work (mainly for the cmd prompt option - i work in an office of pc's) and it works fabulously. I recommend getting this latestest version (i've had versions 3, 5 and 6) because it works the most smoothly with jaguar. Also, a version 6 option only, puts the 'start' menu on your dock allowing you to access it even when VPC is turned off....its a beautiful thing.
     
  4. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #4
    Having used VPC since version 1, I can say without a doubt:

    Performance is based not only on the Mac's speed, but also on the version of Windows. 95 runs faster than 98, 98 runs fater than 2000. XP is pretty slow, but VP6 helps.
    I run 98 w/VP6 on an 867 and it's snappy and runs tha stuff I need.
     
  5. FredAkbar macrumors 6502a

    FredAkbar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    #5
    I'm thinking of getting Virtual PC as well, soon after I get my 1 GHz iMac :D , and upgrade the memory to 512 MB. Does anyone know:

    1) About how much memory does VPC (with, say, Windows XP) take up? I have Jaguar 10.2.3 (soon to be 10.2.4, I assume). I'm looking forward to having 512 MB so that I don't constantly have to restart (well ok, it's not "constantly," but still) to clear up the swapfiles. Some programs, such as Limewire, AOL, and even sometimes Safari, are such memory hogs. I don't want to still have this problem with 512 MB, so that's why I'm curious as to how much memory VPC Windows XP uses on Jaguar.

    2) I've read that VPC 6 goes somewhat slowly on single 1 GHz machines with 512 MB. Is this true? I'd really like to use Virtual PC, but it it goes really slowly, then I'd rather just save up my money for an iPod :cool: .

    Thanks,
    Fred
     
  6. noelmac75 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Iam using VPC 5 and it keeps crashing on me when I launch internet explorer and go to a site with heavy imagery, do i need to increase the ram, iam running it on a G4 450mhx with 384mb.
     
  7. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #7
    That's why I use Win98. I can do everything I need to do, like checking the .exe files the students try to download (on Mac, so the're not too bright!), or some runtimes in Filemaker the state of Illinois INSISTS on sending as an exe. On my 867 it's snappy, but I have 1.5GB ram too. My humble suggestion: If you only need the cappabilities of 98, buy it on eBAY then GET THAT iPOD! Know that WIN on a MAC will invariably disappoint a PC-user.
     
  8. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #8
    If you would really like to see a benefit I would recommend a minum of 1GB of RAM. OSX and VPC will run much better. 512MB is nearly the minimum to properly run OSX without using virtual memory.
     
  9. FredAkbar macrumors 6502a

    FredAkbar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    #9
    I'm not a PC-user, though, and never have been. I've always used Macs, except for the two years when I lived in a PC household. I just don't like seeing great apps, then finding out that I can't run them because they are Windows-only.

    Thanks for the help, though, guys. My grandpa is getting me the new computer (as a late Christmas present), and we're planning to upgrade to 512 MB, but I'll see if I can't convince him to go all the way to 1 GB. I can't wait for those new iMac updates!
     
  10. yod31137 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #10
    Virtual Pc

    Does anyone know if there are any downloadable versions of virtual pc anywhere..sorry im cheap
     
  11. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #11
    Re: Virtual Pc

    Ebay
     
  12. noelmac75 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Re: Virtual Pc

    No I dont think there is anywhere, you'll just have to buy it.
     
  13. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #13
    Re: Virtual Pc

    Be cheap. Just don't post about it here.
     
  14. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #14
    Re: Re: Virtual Pc

    We all know where it is, but I think we all agree that getting it in any other way (i.e. illegally) is a psychological, moral and even a psysiological dead zone.
    Be right. Buy it. You'll live happier.
     
  15. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #15
    Re: Re: Re: Virtual Pc

    You'll also help prevent the further degradation of our rights as computer owners.
     
  16. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #16
    Re: Re: Re: Re: Virtual Pc

    Yeah, but you know, it REALLY pisses me off that the educational price of Quark is so high! I needed two copies and it cost me over 900.00! MS Office, on the other hand, is $53.00. Heck, even Photoshop 7.0 comes in at $135.00. And 70 copies of PS Elements cost LESS than four Quarks! Aye Carumba.
     
  17. FelixDerKater macrumors 68000

    FelixDerKater

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    #17
    If you have less than 512MB of RAM in your Mac, don't even think about running Virtual PC under OS X.

    With 512MB of RAM in my Mac, it ran fairly well. Nothing to brag about. Add another 512MB to the Mac to bring the total to 1GB and you will be amazed at the difference RAM makes in the performance of the emulator. Not only that, it improves overall OS X performance, because OS X is a RAM hog to begin with.
     
  18. markjones05 macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #18
    When u buy Virtual PC, do u also need to buy and install windows on it? Or is virtual pc the actual windows application that runs on a mac?

    Nevermind that question, I found the answer. My question now is, can i install windows ME on virtual PC 6?
     
  19. FredAkbar macrumors 6502a

    FredAkbar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    #19
    To install Windows ME (or any other OS) onto VPC if you already have VPC, you buy an "OS Pack". I don't know exactly how it works, but I'm pretty sure that when you buy Virtual PC originally, it comes with an OS of your choice. It then costs extra to buy other OS's.

    And the only legal way to download Virtual PC that I know of is their free 45-day trial...however, that is only for the version that runs on Windows computers. That seems a bit dumb to me, seeing as how I would think that most people wanting VPC would be Mac-users. I'd like to be able to try VPC without buying it.
     
  20. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #20
    I would too before running out and paying (WTF!?!?!?!) like the M$ OS and like x2.

    Wow even more costly then I would have imagined.
    Bah I'll get mine from my god-father. (No, not the mob type)
     
  21. kcmac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    #21
    I gather that you have a copy of ME. You can install it on VPC. I would try to use another version, however. ME wasn't M$'s best effort.....;)
     
  22. chmorley macrumors 6502a

    chmorley

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #22
    My experience is actually a little different. I run VPC 6 with Win2k and find it a little faster than Windows 98. FWIW...

    There are also some interesting benchmarks worth checking out at MacWindows.

    Chris
     
  23. pimentoLoaf macrumors 68000

    pimentoLoaf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    The SimCity Deli
    #23
    My maxxed-out (640mb) 500 mhz iBook can just run VPC 5 w/PC-DOS, though I wouldn't consider running any of the Windows versions -- too slow.
     
  24. yzedf macrumors 65816

    yzedf

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #24
    iBook 800 maxed out runs VPC 6.0 with WinXP Pro very slowly... :(

    Not impressive whatsoever.

    *sigh*
     
  25. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #25
    VPC does just that. impersonates a pc on your mac. it just emulates the hardware. if you can install it on a pc - you can install it on a VPC.

    simple eh :)
     

Share This Page