Virtual PC Cursor Problem

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Elinor, Aug 27, 2004.

1. Elinor macrumors newbie

I'm new to using Virtual PC so I'm hoping the solution to my problem is simply a setting somewhere... I've got VPC 6.1 running on a powerbook g4 with OS 10.3.3 and I installed XP Pro into Virtual PC. All went well until the day I used my powerbook in a lecture. I hooked it up to a digital projector and displayed a windows program onscreen. The next day I launched Virtual PC again only to discover, to my dismay, that the cursor was now not working.

Specifically, it's the windows cursor that doesn't work. The mac side of things works as well as ever, but although a cursor shows on the Windows desktop, I cannot click on anything. I move it around and every once in a while a shortcut icon I have on the Windows desktop will light up as if I had selected it, but the cursor will at that point be positioned a good two inches below the icon. I can double-click at that point and the shortcut will launch the program it is supposed to, but because of the mismatch between where the cursor is showing on the window and where its "sweet spot" actually is, I cannot usefully use it to click on anything within the opened program. and because the cursor is so out of touch with its "sweet spot", I cannot use the "Start" menu located on the bottom of the screen to shut down Windows. I have to command click to the Virtual PC controls to log off and close down XP.

What happened? And more importantly... How can I fix it?

2. osprey76 macrumors 6502

I have not ever had this problem on VPC or a real PC. But, it seems that the projector may have messed with VPC's understanding of the size of the desktop. My thought would be to try changing the PC's resolution and seeing if this realigns the PC's world.

3. Elinor thread starter macrumors newbie