Virtual PC help/questions!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by hvfsl, Apr 26, 2004.

  1. hvfsl macrumors 68000

    hvfsl

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    I need to run some custom presentation software that only runs on PCs and I am wondering if VPC will do the job. Speed is not really an issue, but the software only works if I have two screens. What I want to know is, does VPC support two monitors or can I use a custom resolution of something like 2000x768 in VPC so VPC spanned across both monitors.

    I have a PC laptop as well that I can do this with, but I would much prefer to use my PowerBook G4 because I could then use Keynote as well as this presentation software.
     
  2. tomf87 macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #2
    VPC 6.1.1 emulates an S3 Trio chip and I do not think it is capable of dual monitors.

    At any rate, I tried to increase the resolution in VPC running WinXP, and it just made the desktop larger. It did not span the screens.
     
  3. mactastic macrumors 68040

    mactastic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Colly-fornia
    #3
    VPC does NOT support dual monitors. I had hoped it did, but was sorely dissappointed. It doesn't access the video card at all. Hopefully the next version will.
     
  4. tomf87 macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #4
    I was trying to put Solaris 9 on my virtual machine and I can't get it to get past boot. It says I have a 486 processor, even though my Win2K and XP virtual machines say it is a P2-300. I'll be glad when the update comes as well.
     

Share This Page