Virtual PC Help!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by macktheknife, May 26, 2002.

  1. macktheknife macrumors 6502a

    macktheknife

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    #1
    I am trying to install a copy of Windows 98 on my hard disk image on Virtual PC 5 for OS X. After creating a new image, I have followed the instructions as listed on the help menu, but I can't seem to get Virtual PC to start booting up from the CD I had inserted.

    The help menu stated that when I insert the Windows 98 CD, it's supposed to "auto-mount" but it does nothing except pop up on my desktop like any other CD.

    Can some please help me? I'd appreciate any advice from anyone who knows anything about this.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Choppaface macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    SFBA
    #2
    hmmm...have you tried booting in 9 and running VPC?
     
  3. macktheknife thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macktheknife

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    #3
    ???

    Choppaface: Not sure if I understand your question. Does booting up from OS 9 have anything to do with installing a new OS in Virtual PC? :confused:
     
  4. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #4
    What version of windblows did you get with VPC???
     
  5. macktheknife thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macktheknife

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
  6. SilvorX macrumors 68000

    SilvorX

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Location:
    'Toba, Canada
    #6
    hmm try these instructions (although i've never set up a disk image on a mac b4):
    insert the win 98 cd b4 u do anything, open up vpc, create a new disk image if you havent done so n configure it to win 98, boot up vpc (after the disk image has been set up) n i think it should automatically recognize the cd as an installer for an os, unless its an upgrade cd (for other versions of windows) or a format cd (such as if you wanted to reformat a computer (like a dell puter or hp puter) then it may not work :S
     
  7. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #7
    Why are you trying to install 98 if you have XP?

    I had no problems booting a VPC image from a CD...
     
  8. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #8
    Re: Windoze XP

    Ewwwwwwwwwww.... why man, why????

    (you poor, poor bastard) :D
     
  9. macktheknife thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macktheknife

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    #9
    I wanted to use Windoze 98 to reduce RAM consumption. Basically, I want to run Access and Visual Basic without too much fuss. I know that Windoze 98 consumes less RAM than XP, so it might run a bit faster.
     
  10. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #10
    You are running on false hopes there. I'd say, bit the bullet and just let VPC install it's own windblowz version. How much memory does the computer you are installing it on have?? What system are you putting that perversion onto??? If it's not a G4, I almost feel sorry for you. As good as VPC has gotten, it still sucks compared to an actual peecee (which can be bad enough as it stands).
     
  11. SilvorX macrumors 68000

    SilvorX

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Location:
    'Toba, Canada
    #11
    that wasnt the case for me for my puter ;)
    windows xp actually *somehow* consumed less resources than 98 did for some reason :S, n then again i got bsods on 98 n sometimes it freeze when i ran 2 many appz unlike xp
     
  12. macktheknife thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macktheknife

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    #12
    Sorry I should clarify: I'm running a 550 TiBook with 512 MB or RAM. I have installed and have ran Windows XP from VPC 5.0 (or 5.1?), and while the performance has been adequate for an emulator or sorts, I'm trying to up the speed when I do something more heavy-duty with Access and VB. I have allocated about 256 MB of RAM for Windows XP when in use. I know Windows 98 sucks big time, but it's the most adequate version for the least amount of RAM consumption.
     
  13. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #13
    In my experience, w2k is the most stable version of windblowz, then again, that isn't saying much. I refuse to get heXPee considering how much m$ charges for their 'upgrades'. Add to that the practice that m$ forces on you if you get their 'home' version... :rolleyes: If you don't send m$ the info they want, you have no OS after 30 days (those f*cking bastards).
     
  14. chmorley macrumors 6502a

    chmorley

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #14
    Help?

    Sorry you're not really getting the answers you need. I started VPC and tried to see if I could figure it out without actually loading Win98 into it. Having a tough time. I will actually try to install it and see if I can help.

    In the mean time, here's something you might find interesting. It's a comparison between different OS's running VPC 5.0 in OS X and 9. It might help you figure out if you want to install Win98. While VPC is now at 5.02, the comparison should still be helpful. Here's the link.

    I'll post back later.

    Chris
     
  15. macktheknife thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macktheknife

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    #15
    Hey, thanks for everything guys (or gals, depending on your gender :D ). I'm still trying to install it but with no luck thus far. If nothing works, I'll consult my friend who's a Mac expert.

    Thanks again.
     
  16. JimmyMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Location:
    St. Louis
    #16
    Boot Disk Image and a Faster Drive

    I was also trying to "downgrade" to Window$ 95 from the Window$ 2000 that shipped with my copy of VPC 4.0. (I too upgraded to VPC 5.1) I was trying to insert the disk as they said and hitting "any key" to boot from the CD. Perhaps Win98 is like Win95 in that it needs that special boot floppy file? One of the many Windows experts here on this forum should be able to answer for sure if that disk is bootable or not.;)

    The Win95 disk that I had came with my original copy of VPC 3.0--which included a special floppy boot file. All I had to do was mount that file at the appropriate time and then run the Win95 disc.

    I run Window$ 2000 on my TiPB 400 with 1024 MB of Ram and a new 48 GB, 5400 RPM IBM Travelstar drive. I normally set Win2k to 256 MB of RAM. Until I upgraded the RAM, and had the old 4200 RPM drive, everything was "usable" (a term you hear quite often from VPC users.) I first put the faster drive in and saw better performance. But it wasn't until I put the 1024 MB of RAM in that I saw a drastic improvement in the performance of Win2k. The native apps still ran about the same speed, but navigating folders and such in Window$ was much faster.

    Do yourself a favor and quite messing with Win98 and get more RAM. And I agree with you, XP likes LOTS of RAM. Get the faster drive too. Good luck. Maybe some day we poor little Mac users won't "need" VPC any more?!
     
  17. macktheknife thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macktheknife

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    #17
    Re: More RAM

    Yeah, that's more or less where I'd like to be heading to. I've been thinking of replacing my 512MB or RAM (2 256MB) for 1GB. I think I'll wait for several things: 1) A price drop on RAM. 2) Jaguar--depending on how fast it is (I've heard it's pretty impressive), I might notice some significant improvement in performance.

    Thanks again for the advice, everyone.
     
  18. TypeR389 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle
    #18
    Re: Boot Disk Image and a Faster Drive

    If it is an official MS CD, all CD's from Win95a are bootable. If it is a copy or something, than it depends on how the copy was made. MS is even shipping bootable DVD's now that you can choose from 4-5 OS's ti install (or more normally fix after they crash) if you are MSDN member...
     
  19. Backtothemac macrumors 601

    Backtothemac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    San Destin Florida
    #19
    The best way to do what you are doing is to this is go under the extra's folder in the VPC 5 folder. Under the installing other OS'es folder mount the floppy and boot to it. Once there, then you can install from the CD to the hard drive image that you have chosen. In other words. Make a new drive image. Create the PC for it. Mount the floppy, boot, and then install from the CD.

    Also just to clarify, 2000 and NT are the fasted systems to run on VPC.

    Oh, and upgrade to 5.0.2
    :p
     
  20. evildead macrumors 65816

    evildead

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Location:
    WestCost, USA
    #20
    I had the same problem

    Basic ly, VPC dosent pick up the CD rom always like it should. I found that making sure that VPC is the active App when you put in the CD... it helps. Or make it full screen mode. I have also put the CD in before I boot the Windows system. When you make the disk image and then you boot the new dos system dose it ask you for a CD? it should. You should get a dos promt for a CD or a bootable system. The installer runs with the txt interfase.


    I would just reboot Windows and restart VPC till it works... the problem has been very sparatic for me.


    -evildead
     
  21. Falleron macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    First thing, Windows will not allow you to install Windows 98 over XP (does not like downgrading). This is what I suggest:

    1. Create a new disk image
    2. In the VPC folder there is a floppy boot image (use that to boot into dos - select in the preferences)
    3. Install from you win 98 cd onto your new image (Eg. E:\setup where E: is your cd drive)

    There you go, I have had to do the same thing in the past.
     
  22. iGav macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    #22
    Aha.... I just installed VPC 5.02 on OSX at the weekend, and installed Windows 2000 Professional....... and had a similar problem getting VPC to recognise my Windows Disc.....

    When you get the prompt in the DOS, type E: to change to the E: directory, at the E: prompt type cd e:\ i386 and then enter,

    At the E:\i386 prompt type winnt and press enter.

    The above however was for Windows 2000, so I have no idea if it works on Win 98 etc......

    Check the VPC website as they have loads of help files with regards to installing Windows etc on the Mac.

    If you can get hold of Windows 2000 though, do get it, it is so much better under VPC than XP........
     
  23. Falleron macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    It all sounds like everyone thinks that VPC has acceptable performance!! I have a Dual 1Ghz + I dont find it acceptable. I have assigned it as much RAM as you can (I have 1 Gb). I use OSX, but having said that, running it in OS9 is not much faster!
     
  24. Backtothemac macrumors 601

    Backtothemac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    San Destin Florida
    #24
    Having beta tested for them, here are some things that will help.

    1) Prebind. This helps everything.
    2) Put VPC on its own disk if possible. The majority of the slowness is the disk access. Everytime you do something in VPC it goes for the HD. By having it on its own, fast drive, then it will help.
    3) Keep the file system as FAT. Going to FAT 32 or especially NTFS will make it run dog slow.
    4) Make a second drive for Apps for VPC. Do not install anything but the OS on the main drive. This will keep fragmentation down on the main drive, and will allow for a better virtual system.
    5) Try to save the state as often as possible, but close the system down at least once a week.

    These should help.
     
  25. Falleron macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #25
    Ok, I have noticed one thing. My file system is FAT32. I use windows 2000, is there a way to change it?

    Cheers for the other suggestions.
     

Share This Page