Virtual PC performance?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by macagain, Feb 13, 2003.

  1. macagain macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    #1
    ok, for the last year and a half, i've been living a double life, mac at home, but windoze for work.

    now that microsoft has announced exchange support for entourage X, switching over is actually becoming plausible.

    remaining problems: the occassional project plan in MS Project that needs reviewing, and the odd Visio diagram to put together.

    ...Virtual PC to the rescue!

    Does anyone out there use VPC on a (semi) regular basis? Is it tolerable?

    thanks
    -macagain
     
  2. hugemullens macrumors 6502a

    hugemullens

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    I use it quite a bit, mostly for kazaa and a few ms access database things i get for school, on a resonabley new machine VP 6 with Win2k or 98 is tolerable. It wont amaze you, but its useable, assuming you have lots of ram in there, i got a 800 dp with 1 gig of ram and it runs win2k well. So if ya have a good mac, vpc is a very viable option.
     
  3. mdeschenes macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    #3
    Good to hear that the performance of VPC with Win 2k is acceptable on the DP 800. What version of VPC is that?

    I am awaiting my new DP 1.25 with 1.5 G. ram. I also ordered VPC. 6.0 DOS as I have my own licensed version of Win XP. Anyone else with a similar setup? I realize that it will not "blaze" along as my AMD XP 2000+ does but I am hoping that it will not be an absolute dog.

    My other concern is whether or not loading my own copy of XP onto VPC DOS will be difficult. I would hate to have to unplug everything so as to have the local tech do it for me... at about $60/hour. Unfortunately, the VPC 6.0 with operating system is over $400 cdn, whereas the DOS version is $200.

    Mike
     
  4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    Don't worry, it's easy. Just set the CD ROM as being bootable in your VPC Prefs, then so long as your XP disc is bootable (I would think that it is) when you start your VPC it will just boot from it as a normal PC would.
     
  5. Freg3000 macrumors 68000

    Freg3000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    I am so frustrated with VPC!!! Whenever I try to install Kazaa, it crashes. It's so annoying! Did you have any problems installing it (whether
    "it" be Kazaa or Kazaa Lite)?

    So, for me, VPC wasn't worth it, unless it starts working...
     
  6. dynamicd macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    When you use kazaa, do you get normal speeds or does vpc slow the connection down too? I have vpc and am thinking about installing kazaa on it but don't want to do it if i'm only going to be getting like 5kb/sec.
     
  7. mcrain macrumors 68000

    mcrain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    I had absolutely zero problems with installing kazaa, and vpc works well. The only thing I don't know is how to get files I download in my vpc to my mac.

    FYI, I had no problems installing my xp onto a dos vpc.

    I have a 1gig TiBook with 1 gig ram and vpc v.5
     
  8. Wes macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #8
    I can help you there :D. Ok open up VPC, now at the bottom left of the window there are all the little icons, now the one of the farthest to the right looks like a puzzle piece. Click, hold and select "install VPC additions" let it runs its course. When you are done, you will be able to seamlessly drag your files across. (I hope, or I look like a complete fool)
     
  9. jefhatfield Retired

    jefhatfield

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    #9
    is 500+ mb ram a good rule of thumb for any of the vpc products>

    and does if
     
  10. mdeschenes macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    #10
    Received my new DP 1.25 yesterday - and spent a long time setting it up. Did load VPC 6.0 DOS as per instructions, then loaded my copy of XP Home. All of this went as planned, after a great deal of reading and "trial-and-error". Opened it up, OK. It was slow, slow, slow. Allocated a little over 400 Megs of RAM. I have 1.25 G Ram available. I understand that the OS 10.2.3 upgrade will address that issue, however, I downloaded it from my PC, saved the upgrade to disk (burned CD) and tried to load it onto the Mac HD. It started to decompress the file then began the step by step process of legal stuff. When it came time to actually upgrade OS 10.2, it would not let me. The message stated that the disk would not allow it ( had a "!" symbol over to of the drive). What am I doing wrong?

    Also, I have read previous threads. It seems that importing my PC programs from the Mac Drive to VPC is tricky. Will try W-_-W's suggestion + print the instructions from the CD. Hope I can figure this one out. Any help would be appreciated.

    Mike
     
  11. gbojim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    #11
    Re: Virtual PC performance?

    I use VPC on a TiBook 800 for exactly that purpose. No problem.
     
  12. hugemullens macrumors 6502a

    hugemullens

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #12
    hmm................i just got vpc 6 with dos, slapped in the win2k disk, and installed it to a disk image. When ever i need to install a program, i use it JUST like any ol' pc. Even for the standard kazza (the one of the main page of download.com), anything. VPC extensions installed after i booted to the OS, and i havent had any problems at all. I hope everyone can figure out there problems, but its been the simple for me.
     
  13. actripxl macrumors 6502

    actripxl

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #13
    Well I run VPC just for kazza on a regular basis since limewire really isn't that great to find stuff. Anybody have some info on Carracho, but to get back to the point I have an ibook 800 with 384 ram and it runs kazza well enough, but do yourself a big favor D/L the .2.4 update cause you well see a very noticeable speed boost.
     
  14. buseman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    #14
    You should try soulseek (www.slsk.org). It works like a charm on VPC 6 and is excellent at finding albums and stuff.

    :)
     
  15. nptski macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    newport beach, ca
    #15
    Go to Connectix support and read the "opimizing VPC" Section. It really helps as 10.2.4 seems to. I wasn't sure it was going to work for me, but I am quite comfortable now. Give it 256 mb or more of ram too. I'm running it on my 12" PB/640 with 320 for VPC..
     
  16. nptski macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    newport beach, ca
  17. iGold macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    #17
    nptski, where is the optimizing vpc link. cannot find.
    thanks.
     
  18. nptski macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    newport beach, ca
  19. cionheart macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Germany
    #19
    Hi!

    I've got two additional questions:

    Which Windows Version offers the best performance under VirtualPC (Win95/Win98/WinME/WinNT/Win2000/WinXP)?

    Is it possible to run old DOS games (like Monkey Island or Kings Quest)?

    Thanx!

    --cionheart
     
  20. markjones05 macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #20
    I have been thinking about getting VPC for my dual 1ghz powermac i have 512 ram and 80 gig. Which VPC should i get and will it run good? I have been hearing mixed messages so i dont want to buy it if it wont work right.
     
  21. Thanatoast macrumors 6502a

    Thanatoast

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Location:
    Denver
    #21
    I have VPC 5 running on 10.2.4 (was 10.2.3 till yesterday) and whenever I launch it I get an "application launch failure" due to a "shared library error". Does anyone know what this means or how to fix it? Thanks in adance for any advice. Side note: if I keep launching it, after a couple of minutes it will launch and run fine.
     
  22. altivec 2003 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #22
    Problems upgrading Jaguar

    I had the same trouble trying to upgrade from 10.2.1 to 10.2.3 I think that it is because I didn't download the combo update. You need to get it instead of the regular 10.2.3 update becuase the 10.2.3 will only update from10.2.2. Home that helps.
     
  23. macfreak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Location:
    Virginia
    #23
    VPC with Win 98 sucks

    VPC with Win 98 really sucks. Not only is it sluggish even on a 700MHz, 384 MB eMac, it also crashes at least twice while using it, although that is typical of MS products. I have heard that XP is more stable, so I would get that version of VPC instead. BTW I have seen various versions of VPC on Limewire, including OS packs. However, some of the files have disk images that won't expand.
     
  24. mdeschenes macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    #24
    I have spent the better part of this entire weekend trying to get VPC 6 (DOS) with my own version of XP home to run properly on my new DP 1.25. Even with 1.25 Gb ram it crashed CONSTANTLY. It even caused OSX to crash so badly that the computer would no longer restart. I had to insert restore, wipe out the HD and restart from scratch.

    Since removing VPC, my DP is working just fine. Being a newbie to OSX + VPC, I guess that I am going through growing pains. I cannot get it to work properly, cannot make heads or tails of the instructions that came with it on how to open a PC file from my Hard Drive, and cannot believe I wasted $200 of hard earned $ for this crap.

    BTW. Does anyone know if File Maker Pro 6.0 comes with Troi plug-ins - I need it to run a PC program based in FileMaker. Also, anyone know how to change keyboard option from French to English - many of my punctuation marks seem to yield french accents over an E instead.

    Mike
     
  25. DannyZR2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Location:
    Texas
    #25
    Anyone try running XBConnect with VPC??? That and several other programs I install on VPC (2kpro or XP or 98) install okay, but when I try to run them i get a message saying "This program has doesn something bad and has been shut down... an error log was created" or something.... can't use it..

    It did that with XBConnect and DVD2One and others...

    anyone else have this problem?? what can I do?
     

Share This Page