Virtual PC Questions

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by wiiiiilllll, Nov 16, 2005.

  1. wiiiiilllll macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    #1
    1- Will Autocad 2004 run on Virtual PC?

    2- Do programs run slower than usual on VPC?

    tia =)
     
  2. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
    1. I don't know.

    2. YES. My 1.67 PB says it is a 295 MHz 686 in VPC. It works for somethings, but nothing processor or graphic intensive. Everything is emulated, so things slow down.
     
  3. Squonk macrumors 65816

    Squonk

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #3
    Hey Grapes911!

    Which 1.67PB do you have? The one with DDR2 memory? How much memory do you have and what speef of hard drive do you have?

    I'm trying to decide between upgrading to the latest PowerBook (from my 1.25GHz) or keeping the PB and buying a cheap PC box.

    Here is what I would want to run on VPC on my Mac:
    1) MS Money - 1 hour per week
    2) MS Access2000 (and possibly 2003) - 2 hours per week
    3) Visual Studio2005 - 2 hours per week
    4) VB6 - ???
    5) Possibly MS SQL2005 - just to learn it

    I'm a PC developer and have some occasional side projects. None of these projects are that large in scope. My programming needs at home are more for educational purposes.

    I know that VPC is not going to be anything close to the P4 3 GHz that I have in the office, but I'm curious just how acceptable would it perform for my needs. Any other PC developers out there try to run their tools on VPC?

    Thanks much.
     
  4. TDM21 macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #4
    I have a 12" PB (1.33 GHz) with 768mb of ram and VPC reports back the same processor speed for me. I have used VisualStudio.NET in VPC for basic programming and it ran surprisingly well. I don't know if AutoCad will work, but I thought I heard about people who have tried it. Their experience wasn't pleasant though; just not enough horsepower.

    If you are going to run VPC then I suggest using Windows 2000. I find it a little faster then XP. Also, 768mb should be enough: VPC will only let you allocate a maximum of 512mb of ram to the virtual computer.
     
  5. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #5
    If those are the times you want to spend, VPC will likely increase those by 125-150%. As for running MS SQL2005, I think you'd be better off with a cheap PC. Emulating hardware for a RDBMS just isn't worth it.
     
  6. jared_kipe macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    Why not just run some equivilant programs on the mac side.
    MS Money - Quicken or Quickbooks
    MS Access - Filemaker

    I assume VB6 is Visual Basic? Why would you want to learn that?
    I don't know much about MS SQL, but why not try free Apache and MySQL?
    And I don't know what Visual Studio2005 is, but for programing try learning Objective C. With the free Xcode.
     
  7. jared_kipe macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #7
    It will probably run, but not well at all. Even on a Quad G5. What you probably need is a cheap PC and a KVM switch. I have built competant PCs out of spare parts and ~100$ of ebay stuff. If you already have a copy of windows ;) then this is probably cheaper than buying virtual PC and a really fast mac.
     
  8. Squonk macrumors 65816

    Squonk

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #8
    I've tried Quicken, but I actually prefer MS Money. I still do battle with this one though....:confused:

    Access/Visual Basic/Visual Studio (VB.NET) - These are the development environments from my day job and my side projects. I need to work in these.

    Thanks for the suggestions of alternatives though...

    I hate to spend $400 on a PC when that could go toward a shiny new PB...:D
     
  9. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #9
    I have the one right before this last update.
    Get a cheep PC.

    Most of that should work. But.. .Net 2003 worked fine with writing code. It sucked when building. The debugger is terribly slow.


    You'll be happier with a cheep $400 PC. By the time you purchase VPC and Windows, you'll be paying $250-ish anyway.
     
  10. Squonk macrumors 65816

    Squonk

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #10
    I hear you on the cheap PC....

    I have a friend at M$, so my copy of VPC would be dirt cheap. That does tip the scales a little bit.

    And it makes sense what someone else earlier said about running Win2K instead of XP for better performance if I were to consider that route...

    There are some killer deals out there on HP or eMachine refurbs. Speedy Celerons (2.9GHz) with enough RAM and HD for now for just under $400.00.

    :( Time to go back into my cave and ponder...
     
  11. AI EVO macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    #11
    Hey guys, im new to the forum:eek: , but I was wondering if anyone had any problems with using a three button mouse in Virtual PC7. With a strong Mac, VPC can run Alias Studio Tools [ quite slowly ], but I cant get the middle click to work properly. I've installed the third party driver, but there seems to be no middle click option. Has anyone had or resolved this problem? Also, is there any way of allocating more processor power for VPC, cause it only appears to be a 700mhz processor :eek:

    Thanks!

    Andy :)
     
  12. JDar macrumors 6502a

    JDar

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    #12
    If your computer shows up as a 700 mHz processor you are flying! That's the best I've heard for VPC.

    My Kensington Studio mouse works well in VPC in all respects; the middle button is defined as a double click. The touch-scroll sensor works well, too.
     
  13. AI EVO macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    #13
    Hey!
    Thanks for the help, although I need a defined middle click for the middle click...if that makes sense :p But i will look into it, as it may actually solve the problem. :)

    Andy
     
  14. JDar macrumors 6502a

    JDar

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    #14
    If it might help, I defined the middle button to equal a double click in the Kensington driver in System Preferences under OS X.4.3. I've never looked further at any mouse control in Win 2k in VPC since it simply passed through and worked. I can imagine that one kind of mouse might work and another might not, however, and that doing further mouse control under Win's preferences might override. Good luck!
     
  15. sebisworld macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    #15
    If you go for VPC, I would recommend getting Version 6. It seems to run much smoother. Of course, if you have a G5 you have to have V7.

    And why is my Safari so slow....
     

Share This Page