Virtual PC woes...

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by kevinuaa, Oct 8, 2004.

  1. kevinuaa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #1
    first of all, thanks to everyone in advance for their suggestions.

    I have a rev c 12" PB 1.3ghz w/768 memory. i'd like to use virtual pc essentially to run a program called "DR eye" which is a instant translation dictionary for Chinese (traditional). However, after optimizing Virtual PC as per MS's instructions (except for Virtual memory, i'm not sure how to turn that off) i'm still running too slow to function--with all mac os apps closed. I have to use this program with ms word, and it basically is unusable, even though on my 2000 P3 500mhz compac laptop, running both programs only takes 4% of cpu power total [[[side note: by the way using the pc laptop isn't an option. it's on its last legs, it is very slow, not portable (needs external keyboard, the front/top is open (you can see the CPU, etc......and the power chord needs to be plugged in)]]].

    However, virtual pc shows that winxp is using 100% of CPU power just by itself--with no programs running...that sounds strange to me, especially b/c the numbers don't add up in the task manager. Using the Mac OS activity monitor it's only using about 40-61% of cpu power (though it did go up to 90% during start up)....it's fluctuating between using 300 and 480 MBs of memory....Anyway, task manager shows that out of 512mb available of memory, 370mb are available

    Can anyone give me some suggestions as to how to use this program? it really shouldn't be so difficult. it sometimes takes a couple minutes just to open a file. erg.
    i did notice thta there were three svchost.exes running.

    i think this may have been covered before but i was unable to find relevant posts. but i did look!


    i feel like i just blew a lot of money. i probably should have just bought a cheap laptop. d'oh.
     
  2. kevinuaa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #2
    i should add the following info:
    hardware info shows my cpu is 294Mhz.
    i switched to word pad, and made all of the display options (background, windows, resolution, etc.) as ghetto as possible. still problems. thanks
     
  3. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #3
    Can you use an earlier windows OS? In my experience on VPC6, XP is unusably slow just being windows. Win2K is quite a bit faster. Win98 would be faster still but as that would be unsupported by MS you'd be running a very vulnerable OS.
     
  4. kevinuaa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #4
    unfortunately, not legally...and i'm not sure i know anyone who i could not borrow a copy of 2k from.
     

Share This Page