Virtual Screen Resolution?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by gammamonk, Jun 5, 2006.

  1. gammamonk macrumors 6502a

    gammamonk

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #1
    I'm working on a web project, and the resolution of my powerbook is just not enough. Is there a way to crank the resolution way up with scrolling? You can do it in Windows with nVidia I know--- Is there an ATI utility for my powerbook that can do it?
     
  2. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #2
    There are several desktop managers that will create the effect of multiple independent screens, but I'm not aware of any apps that do what you want for OSX. I remember one for OS8, ironically, but obviously that wouldn't do you any good.

    You might do a search on VersionTracker--maybe there's one I'm not aware of, or perhaps one of the virtual desktop programs offers this feature.
     
  3. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #3
    EDIT: Withdrawn as this does not work
     
  4. gammamonk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    gammamonk

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #4
    VNC into my local machine? That would be weird-- but might work. ^__^;

    I loaded the ATI driver update thing from apple.com, but that doesn't have the option--

    I'm gonna check Version Tracker like the above post suggested.
     
  5. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #5
    Actually it won't work, I just tried, this program here: http://developer.berlios.de/project/showfiles.php?group_id=3463 is awesome, it does virtual desktops like Linux does. Desktop 1 - Music, Desktop 2 - Web, Desktop 3 - Video, etc. etc. etc. up to I think 25 desktops.
     
  6. gammamonk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    gammamonk

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #6
    What keywords should I be searching for? I found a ton of desktop manager apps that add virtual desktops, but I need virtual resolution... (o_O)

    Screen panning?
     
  7. gammamonk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    gammamonk

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #7
    LOL

    I found a program to simulate a smaller resolution. (@_@)

    link
     
  8. gammamonk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    gammamonk

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #8
    Sorry for so many posts, but this problem is buggin' me. X_X

    Is there an equivalent to /etc/X11/XF86Config in OSX? A settings file I can just adjust by hand? (I'm not running X11 tho)
     
  9. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #9
    Not to my knowledge. This is probably just one of those specialty features that doesn't exist for the Mac. Worst comes to worst, just grab a larger external monitor from someplace and hook it up.
     
  10. gammamonk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    gammamonk

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #10
    It sounds like you're right-- I remember doing this in Windows 95 on a Cirrus Logic card. Now I guess if Apple included that feature, it would be motivation against buying a Cinema Display.

    My monitor at home is 1280x1024, which is a little better than my powerbook-- but I think after I move, I'll be buying a 24" LCD. ^__^v
     
  11. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #11
    That's the spirit! Real resolution is better than the virtual kind any day. I know as soon as I have the cash I'm buying myself another external monitor... hopefully Dell's 24, in fact. ;)
     
  12. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #12
  13. uaaerospace macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Location:
    Alabama
    #13
    haha, I did that once. I had the VNC in a window, so the result was an infinite number of windows appearing on my screen....sorta like those funny mirrors at the circus that appear to go on and on. Needless to say, I haven't done this again. :p
     
  14. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #14
    Oh man! Sudden inspiration! You can run an OS X virtual machine on your real OS X computer! So since it's a software layer machine anyway maybe you can specify the desired screen resolution to be higher than your real screen and the software will give you scroll bars. It's a long shot that almost definitely won't work. But it's worth a try and if it works, it works, right? Check it out.

    http://maconmac.bastix.net/
     
  15. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #15
    IF and ONY IF you are running Panther. This does not work on Tiger as many others have stated in the sf.net forums for the project. I got excited bc I need pure OS 9 so I can emulate PSX (G3 is upstairs, its my dads now). I have a PSX and the games I own of course - FF7, Crash Bandicoot 2, etc.
     
  16. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #16
    Man, it was sad to see VGS die way back when, though hardly surprising. It was funny to have more games than Windows for a short while--I remember my college running Crash Bandicoot to demo early iMacs at the bookstore.

    Hard to believe that so many years later there still aren't any decent Playstation emulators available for the Mac when you can get an emulator (free, no less) for nearly any other old game system.
     
  17. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #17
  18. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #18

Share This Page