VirtualPC wishlist

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by NusuniAdmin, Jul 18, 2004.

  1. NusuniAdmin macrumors 6502a

    NusuniAdmin

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #1
    it would be awsome if virtual pc had these features (maybe some are in 7...)

    1) native video card support....we all know this is in 7 :)

    2) netboot.....be able to boot the windows system off an x86 system but use it like a regular emulated pc under vpc... Kinda like a remote access gui typa thing :)..this would be nice...they could make an app for windows that will make a remote access thing turn on and then with vpc you can user it over the network anddo basic things like install s/w and junk. This would be handy if you need to do something between mac os and windows :). This is not very practicle and i doubt it will happen any time soon :(

    3) FASTER EMULATION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4) optimize the F**k out of it for the g5!!!!!!!! booyah baby!!!!

    5) it would be cool if you could turn on internet sharing or a similar dhcp client on os x and in vpc have it set up so it acts like a emulated pc is plugged in via ethernet. This would be a cool and cheap way to not have to buy an x86 to practice doing network things between mac and windows..especially if you already use/have vpc...i doubt this will happen either.

    6) visual studio .net support...as far as i know right now visualstudio .net does not install :(

    7) VPC addditions for linux and unix :)

    that is about it....i really doubt half of them will happen anytime soon.
     
  2. JzzTrump22 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    The only thing i want is #1 native video support. I have so many pc games and i want to use them again.
     
  3. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    Wouldn't it be even cooler if Microsoft didn't have the world so dependent on Windows? Then we wouldn't have to worry about running it in emulation on our Macs.

    As for Linux and Unix in VPC--you can do it now, but the current version was out before Microsoft bought Connectix. Don't you think they'll break Linux compatibility if they can? Running Linux in VPC would stifle innovation and hurt the consumer--or some bs like that.
     
  4. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #4
    If you have a G5, VPC 6 doesn't do Linux, Unix, or even DOS. I agree that Microsoft might only allow VPC 7 to work with Windows at least with hardware based graphics support.
     
  5. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #5
    I want native video support.

    When I bought VPC, I thought I wouldn't use it that much, but now I use it almost daily; for trying out Linux distros before I install them on my PC.
     
  6. abhishekit macrumors 65816

    abhishekit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    akron , ohio
    #6
    I installed VPC two days back. The reason was that I had paid to watch an ongoing cricket series online. But the intelligent developers of the website had that working only if I use windows media player on windows. Installing WMP on OS X did not work.
    But the sad part was, even after all that trouble, the video was not coming right, it was too grainy. So I was forced to watch it on my roommate's PC.
    And now when I read in this thread about the native video card support missing in the current version, I assume that was the reason then.
     
  7. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7
    I don't want to beat this "Screw Windows" thing too hard...well actually I do, but I don't want to wear out my welcome here so I keep it fairly cool. If it bothers you that you are "forced" to use WMP you should do a couple of things. First is don't give in. Sometimes you can find the same thing in a different format elsewhere, but if you can't be prepared to live without seeing it. Second, write to the human in charge of the website and tell them why you're not using their site. If they have sponsors do the same thing. Sometimes web designers are just lazy and use WMP not knowing there is anything else. It's inexcusible but it happens. Regardless, if you just give in and use Windows/WMP it sends the message that you're okay with them bossing you around.

    Since you paid for this service I'd definitely raise hell about it. They sold you something you can't use. If there wasn't some kind of warning that you need Windows they ought to give you a refund.
     
  8. abhishekit macrumors 65816

    abhishekit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    akron , ohio
    #8
    Well actually they have listed windows in the system requirements for the broadcast. So I can't really complain, but still I mailed them that they should cater to a wider audience in future. The reason why I bought the game even after reading the requirements was that I could watch the demo games on their website(which they have provided as a check for viewers before buying) through VLC. So I assumed that the live games would also work. But they don't because the authentication window doesn't come up, so authentication fails.
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    1. I hope so.
    2. Try Remote Desktop Client.
    3. Definitely needed!
    4. Not so sure about this one, I don't want side-effects that make it run slower on G4s.
    5. Not sure what you mean.
    6. VS 2002 works fine. I don't have 2003.
    7. That'll never happen :(
     
  10. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #10
    GFX native support (or acceleration) is a must. I also want them to fix the thing it runs... oh, what is it called again? Oh yeah, Windows.
     
  11. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    :D
     
  12. SpaceMagic macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #12
    Are they gunna let you install Linux anymore? Or is it going to be Windows XP ONLY.
     
  13. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #13
    dunno... But I did think of something else

    CD-Burning

    Being able to record to your Mac CD-Burner or to a .dmg/.cdr/.iso file. Mainly because of Alcohol 120% and those free songs on music stores other than iTunes. So I can burn them as an audio CD and import them into itunes.
     
  14. NusuniAdmin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NusuniAdmin

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #14
    wow that would be an awsome feature..cool idea !
    (stupid starcraft....i was doing a 5 hour game and hadnt saved in 30 mins..and It UNEXPECTADLY QUIT FHJSDKJFHDSKJFHJDSHFDFDJSF FU** SH** STUPID POS!...lol sorry I WAS JUST ABOUT TO WIN TOO :( :( )
     

Share This Page