Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Kelg6

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 16, 2004
California
I'm new to mac but someone once told me that there aren't too many viruses compatible with mac (or far less than PCs). I don't know how true that statement is but I want to make sure that my computer doesn't die. Is there any recommendations out there for virus protection? Much thanks! :eek:

themadchemist

macrumors 68030
Jan 31, 2003
Chi Town
I don't use virus protection and I haven't had a problem. Just make sure you download security updates frequently.

In general, you can feel comfortable opening up e-mails that have viral attachments, attempting to open the files, sending the files to your friends, and taunting everyone with your computer's invincibility. Of course, there have been a maybe a couple viruses for OS X, but I don't think any that were transmitted by e-mail.

For example, there was one that masked itself as an mp3 file and would do a wee bit of damage if you opened the file, but nothing really irreversible. And there was some security problem recently, but Apple is very good about stamping everything out very quickly with security updates.

Yes, there are compromises to security once in a while, but because there are so few, Apple can respond to each quickly.

So all I can say is, "Welcome to Paradise."

kgarner

macrumors 68000
Jan 28, 2004
Utah
There are currently no known OS X viruses (virii?). There are a few proof of concept Trojans, but you have to open the files yourself in order to launch them. As far as virus protection, opinions range from 'you don't need it' to use (insert favorite brand name here). Myself I have the Virex software that came with my .Mac account, but I don't actually run except on occasion to make sure I am not a carrier for my PC using friends.

reaper

macrumors 6502
Apr 9, 2004
19th Hole
krimson said: