Vista 64Bit running on MBP C2d success

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Mobility151990, Nov 26, 2006.

  1. Mobility151990 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    #1
    Just to let you know im running the home premium vista 64bit version on my 17" core 2 duo macbook pro :d

    so far it seems very very nice, even though i do hate windows. so far the only things NOT working are isight, sound and wireless internet. Everything else is a go, i will post a screenshot in 30 mins. thanks
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    Can you post some benchmarks? And any lessons learned figuring out how to get it installed?
     
  3. Mobility151990 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    #3
    hi sure what program do you want benchmarks with ( im new to windows ) so point me to the program(s) heh :)

    very very easy, use bootcamp make the partition and reboot as normal and install. Although i found with my 64bit disc it wouldn't let me startup into the x64 installation only the x86 one BUT a couple of the steps in it let me select x86 or x64 installations so i chose x64 home premium and it installed perfectly from then on :)

    Has drivers for the graphic chipset already installed and ethernet device.
     
  4. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
  5. 4nr- macrumors regular

    4nr-

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Göteborg, Sweden
    #5
    3d mark, www.futuremark.com

    kewl that it works for you. I'm going to try to install ultimate on my mb whenever I have the time and HD space.
     
  6. joshysquashy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    when vista gets released, will they have two different versions for 32bit or 64bit? i think leopard will only have one that does both just like universal apps work for ppc and intel in one download.
     
  7. Mobility151990 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    #7
    god i didnt realise windows sucked so much that i had to download an external program just to take a snap shot. jeez anyway here is 1
    http://img67.imageshack.us/img67/3812/capturedjl2.jpg

    im trying to download that 3dmark , big file and nowhere is maxing out my download speed for it so im gonna keep looking :S
     
  8. ilkevinli macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    You dont have to. Just hit the PrintScreen button and paste it into Paint. :D

     
  9. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #9
    Thanks for the picture Mobility151990. :)


    Vista looks better than XPee, but still not as refined as Mac OS X in my opinion. :cool:
     
  10. superiorgadgets macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #10
    Hi, I have a question for you.
    Did i understand you correctly, that you was able to make WiFi working on macbook?
    I have exactly the same 2 problems. No sound and no WiFi.
    My macbook pro 2.16 runs Vista without any delays, but no sound and WiFi kills everything...
    Any help is appreciated :)
    thank you.
     
  11. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #11
    ewwwww!
    wanna put on the vista classic theme and take a screenie? that may be kinda cool looking!
     
  12. phuong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #12
    my guess is you're running it under boot camp?
     

Share This Page