Vista - Connecting to Mac OS X Share point

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ^squirrel^, Feb 2, 2007.

  1. ^squirrel^, Feb 2, 2007
    Last edited: May 9, 2014

    ^squirrel^ macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Hi,

    I am struggling to connect Vista to our Mac Share points. When you connect via a Vista machine it automatically adds the domain or PC name in front of the username.... example

    for Domain
    IVYGROUP/(username)

    Connecting Locally
    Darren-pc/(username)
    In XP all i need to do is key in "(username)" with my password.

    Is there anyway in Vista to remove the bit before the "/"? Or have they lock down the security so much that it's not going to connect mac share points?????

    I spotted this issue in the Beta and thought it might just be an issue up until the final release...... how wrong was i?!!?!

    Do you think the server might need an update to accept Vista logins?

    Hope someone can help me.

    Darren
     
  2. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    I realized this when I updated my copy of Remote Desktop Connection on XP. Its all Vista optimized and I don't like the change either. No idea if it can be changed back, probably not.
     
  3. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3

Share This Page