Vista may not support outputting HD

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by solvs, Oct 5, 2005.

  1. solvs macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #1
    http://www.pcworld.com/news/article/0,aid,122738,tk,dn100405X,00.asp

    Hadn't seen this posted yet. I realize some of it's hardware, but it's still stupid. You'd think M$ could stand up to the MPAA the way Apple stands up to the RIAA. I feel sorry for the early adopters of HD TVs and monitors.
     
  2. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #2
    Funny that MS is blocking something 1 year away that people can already do on a G5.
     
  3. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #3
    Hackers will definetely figure out a way around this problem. As for myself I still have CRT tvs and computer screens. So I could care less. I feel sorry for those with a brand new $6000 HD 50" LCD's though.

    Also consumer complaints and class action law suits on MS and the film industry wil probably remove this restriction. Moves like this make me hate the film industry since they are just hurting law abiding paying consumers. Pirates will have a work around so they won't be affected.
     
  4. strider42 macrumors 65816

    strider42

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    #4
  5. BGil macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    #5
  6. Loge macrumors 68020

    Loge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #6
    Amazing how consumers seem to have no say at all in any of this.
     
  7. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #7
    do we ever?
     
  8. BGil macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    #8

    Why shoould we? It's theier stuff and they can do whatever they want with it. When you make your content then you can protect it or not protect it as you see fit.
    If you don't want to buy protected media then don't.
     
  9. solvs thread starter macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #9
    Actually, I appreciate the information. I'm glad I may be wrong. But thank you for assuming the worst of me. :rolleyes: What's a youi?
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    Well, according to Ars Technica, the "blurry" image is still 480i....

    But anyways, the customers' response option is to refuse to upgrade to the format. Remember DIVX? :(
     
  11. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #11
    Customer is always right?
     
  12. ham_man macrumors 68020

    ham_man

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    #12
    There has got to be some anti-trust issues or something here...

    Even if there are none, it is still bull****...
     
  13. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #13
    I wont be upgrading unless i get a HDTV, or i will just hack it to work bwahah
     
  14. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #14
    I am no Audio / Videophile, so if this is a limited ability system, that disables what I want to use to watch / display it, i won't buy it.

    I am really not happy with the attention that RIAA and others have put forward on Pirating, and also don't appreciate being "forced" into a new standard. If it is a slow (5 year) transition much like VHS to DVD, I will be fine with it.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page