Vista RC2 on my macbook?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by psychofreak, Oct 8, 2006.

  1. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I have never used bootcamp, and have just downloaded Vista RC2 on my macbook. I have not yet burned the DVD, as I am not sure if i have to do anything else. Do I just download bootcamp, burn the iso onto a DVD and run bootcamp, or do I have to download drivers ect...
     
  2. psychofreak thread starter Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Also, do I use FAT32 or the other one (can't remember the name)
     
  3. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #3
    NTFS, though it is a better file system, cannot be written to by Mac OS X, so if you can, use FAT32 because you can modify files from within Mac OS X.
     
  4. psychofreak thread starter Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Thanks, and what about drivers, do I need to do anything about them?
     
  5. terrymr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #5

    The basics seem to work out of the box, network (wired and wireless) and display. The XP drivers disk burned by boot camp doesn't install properly but creates a directory for mac drivers in c:\program files\ you can find the sound driver in there. I can't find an iSight driver yet.
     
  6. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #6
    If I remember right, you can only use NTFS with Vista.
     
  7. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #7
    Yup.

    Also, whats the difference between Vista RC1 and RC2 (apart from that RC2 is one better than RC1 :p)?
     
  8. AnthonyKinyon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    #8
    Also, whats the difference between Vista RC1 and RC2 (apart from that RC2 is one better than RC1 :p)?[/QUOTE]

    RC2 is supposed to be a little faster and includes "thousands" of bug fixes over RC1 from what I've read online. Also fixes some driver issues (not that I've seen, but..) :)
     
  9. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #9
    Got this error as well but formatted the partition and restarted and it seems to be installing now. Fingers crossed
     
  10. psychofreak thread starter Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #10
    A couple of questions:

    How much space do I need, because I have heard 15GB and 32GB (which I don't have) , I don't own an XP disk, so its a plain vista install.

    Do I need to do anything special? I heard that you need to delete a 200MB partition (how?)

    Do I burn the ISO file onto a DVD, or do I burn the extracted ISO file?

    and how do I choose FAT32?, do I use bootcamp or disk utility?

    Thanks in advance:)
     
  11. ExoticFish macrumors 6502a

    ExoticFish

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Location:
    The inner depths of madness, aka Kent, OH
    #11
    the Vista install takes about 3.5 - 4 GB as far as I remember (deleted my virtual machine a while ago)
     
  12. drval macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    #12
    FAT32 also restricts the HD size to 32 GB so, if you need more space than that for your Windows workspace, you need to use NTFS. I have a 70 GB NTFS file for my Windows workspace but, then again, I rarely use the Mac side so... ;-)
     
  13. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #13
    This is purely a side note. The 32 GB limit on FAT32 is an artificial limitation in XP, and does not represent what the file system is capable of. I for one have an external 300 GB FAT32 drive that works fine under OS X and XP.

    Thus, the statement should be: Windows won't create FAT32 partitions larger than 32 GB, even though larger ones formatted using other tools are supported.

    B
     
  14. drval macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    #14
    I understand what you're saying here but, I really prefer to stick to what I not only KNOW will work, but also what would be supported by Microsoft if your sxxx fit the fan. I'm sure that one could even do some nice unix-based kludges to get around various "limits" but then, as the Ghostbusters movie put it: "Who you gonna call?" when something goes wrong?

    But to some degree it's preference. My preference is to have clear lines of accountability and a clear sense of where I can go to get what I need if and when things go funky. Mission critical being the key idea there.

    But others have different comfort zones and that's fine too.
     
  15. ZildjianKX macrumors 68000

    ZildjianKX

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    #15
    Is it true that Vista RC2 supports EFI? Hence the EFI partition that boot camp makes isn't necessary for RC2?

    How can you create an NTFS partition in OS X without formatting the whole drive without using bootcamp?

    Basically I want to install the 64-bit edition of Vista RC2 on my 64-bit Core 2 Duo MacBook Pro without creating an EFI partition.
     
  16. Carguy172 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    #16
    Vista uses 15 gb its quite alot and it does require NTFS Which is good because its a better file system.
     

Share This Page