Visual Basic on Virtual PC???

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Zerobo, Oct 17, 2005.

1. Zerobo macrumors newbie

Hi everyone, hope this is in the correct forum.

I am a devoted mac user and current grad student in behavior analysis. I am taking a class next spring that requires programming using visual basic. I figured i would have to suck it up and do something i said i would never do, buy a pc. Anyway, a fellow mac user told me that I may be able to do my programming using visual basic running on virtual pc. Does anyone have any experience doing this??? I really don't know much about visual basic so i don't know what kind of programming we will be doing. If anyone does have experience with this, what kind of hardware would i need to be able to run this smoothly? I would much rather buy a new powerbook than a crappy pc to get me through one semester! Anyway, thanks for your time everyone!

2. slimflem macrumors regular

slimflem

I've been a MS developer for over 10 years. That's the career I fell into. At work, several of the guys have PowerBooks and run Visual Studio.NET on Virtual PC which is way more resource hungry than VB could ever be. You should be fine.

3. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

You ought to look into REALbasic. It is MacOS X native. It handles Visual BASIC projects. It is supported by Microsoft.

4. G5Unit macrumors 68020

G5Unit

Does visual basic even use that hardware demanding engines?

5. slimflem macrumors regular

slimflem