Visual tab Switching? (Firefox)

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by GimmeSlack12, Jan 16, 2007.

  1. macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #1
    Anyone know of an expose sort of way to switching between tabs in Firefox? I do use the Command-1...2....3 to go directly what tab I want (which is quite useful) but there has got to be a better way.

    I like the way that Opera moves about tabs with its small menu that pops-up, but Opera sucks at everything else. Anyone know of a Greasemonkey script or add-on or something?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #2
    If you want the expose visual look for viewing tabs, then Mozilla's extensions page has a few: https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/extensions/

    Here is what I found.

    Firefox Showcase
    Tab Catalog
    Viamatic foXpose
    Ctrl Tab Preview
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #3
  4. macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #4
    i second TDM21's idea

    the best one is reveal, which officially doesn't support 2.0.0.x, u need some tricks to install it. goto https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/1942/ see the comment for details

    if even has a magnification lens, lol
    and u can drag the previews to rearrange the tab positions, with animation
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Is there a way to make any of those add-ons respond to a gesture? I've gotten so used to using hot corners for Exposé... if I could get a tabsposé with gestures of some kind, that'd be perfect!
     
  6. macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #6
    good question, i would imagine that need two extensions to cooperate, mouse gesture+tab previews.
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #7
    I've been using Tab Catalog for a while. It works, but I can't say anything further.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #8
    In conjunction with Quicksilver I bet this is possible.

    Thanks for the suggestions everyone.
     
  9. macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #9
    guess what, ha

    install mouse gesture and reveal
    then in mouse gesture's preference, add a new gesture, choose customize (default is build-in), it will need u to input a javascrip, just input
    done.

    Im setting up as a big triangle, "1R7", kool

    this is from reveal's author
     
  10. macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #10
    reveal doesn't really work flawlessly, sometime it lost tabs :(, i hope the author would update this to 2.0.0.x ASAP
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    Wow, nice work, Clevin! :) I will have to try this out!
     
  12. macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #12

Share This Page