VIZ or 3DStudioMax on mac

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by missLA, Aug 15, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    #1
    Thinking of switching to mac, however, I need to run AutoDesk VIZ 2008...

    Is anyone sucessfully using it on a mac through the windows option? Any issues?
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    #2
    works awesome on bootcamp.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    Designer Dale

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Folding space
    #3
    Hi. I don't use 3D anymore, but from what I have read in the forums is that the video card is the main concern on Macs. New laptops may have the muscle to run the apps you mentioned, but the best bet is a Mac Pro where you have a choice of graphics cards.

    I found this thread using a search on MRoogle. Hope it helps.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=746942

    Dale
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #4
    which is still not supplied with a gpu for cad software, you need to buy it separately.

    My view is simple (and I do cad for a living :)) - If you are using CAD software which is windows only and it is your main software then you should buy a windows machine. HP, dell etc all do laptops (may be in business section) with quadro/firegl gpu's which are well suited to software such as VIZ/3ds max. A geforce gpu (such as those in the macbook pro) will work but it will struggle with anything other than the simplest of models (in the viewport as rendering is cpu only) as it is not designed to work in the way that 3ds max/viz software does.
     

Share This Page