VMware Fusion 7 Launches with Virtualization Support for OS X Yosemite and Windows 8.1

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Sep 3, 2014.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Following the launch of Parallels Desktop 10 last month, VMware has launched its new VMWare Fusion 7 virtualization software, bringing support for OS X Yosemite and improving compatibility with Windows 8.1. The release also adds a number of new features, including a new look, improved performance, enhanced connectivity, and optimization for Macs with Retina displays.

    [​IMG]
    The more advanced VMware Fusion 7 Pro has also been launched, bringing the same features along with dual GPU optimization, virtual network management, enhanced support for cloned virtual machines, and more.

    [​IMG]
    VMware Fusion 7 is available now for $69.99 while VMware Fusion 7 Pro is priced at $149.99. Those upgrading from VMWare Fusion 5 or 6 are also eligible for discounted pricing of $49.99 for VMWare Fusion 7 or $79.99 for VMWare Fusion 7 Pro.

    Article Link: VMware Fusion 7 Launches with Virtualization Support for OS X Yosemite and Windows 8.1
     
  2. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #2
    VMware's usage of Windows 7 in their promo shots really highlights the fact that Windows 8.1 still isn't as good as 7 :D
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    AppleInTheMud

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    Vojens Denmark
    #3
    Can anyone give me just one reason, why to buy this if you want to run Windows on your Mac? We have Bootcamp and it's free - With VMware you have to pay for both Windows and VMware.

    VMware must be slower than running a real install. And it costs you more.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    #4
    you can run windows within mac. among other things.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    NogbadTheBad

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    You can also install other non Windows based OSs that run on Intel.

    BTW with Bootcamp you still need to purchase Windows.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Will Fusion 6 still run on Yosemite ?
     
  7. macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #7
    No one really wants to run Windows 8.anything on a PC, let alone on a Mac. Any Windows user or IT person I know either uses Win 7 Pro still or wishes they could.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    AppleInTheMud

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    Vojens Denmark
    #8
    I know. But with VMware you have to purchase Windows AND WMware. I still see no reason.

    But thx for the answers :)
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    #9
    When your work requires to use just one application that only runs on Windows, you will see how shelling out $80 (by your boss) is a world changing shift from rebooting every thirty minutes.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    JeffyTheQuik

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Location:
    Charleston, SC and Everett, WA
    #10
    You want to do something totally insane, like not reboot your Mac and run Windows apps right next to your Mac apps.
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    Steve121178

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #11
    Windows 8.1 is vastly superior to Windows 7. But VMware knows that a lot of users wish to virtualize Windows 7, hence why it's used in promo shots.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    AppleInTheMud

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    Vojens Denmark
    #12
    Okay - I get it. You can run a Windows app directly on you mac using VMware :)

    I see it's handy.
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    JeffyTheQuik

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Location:
    Charleston, SC and Everett, WA
    #13
    Also, by "Windows 8," they also mean virtualizing Windows Server 2012, which, as I found out, was not fun to do, so I went back to WS2008 R2 (same code/UI as Win 7).
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Location:
    Dutch Mountains
    #14
    You do not have to reboot.......
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    #15
    Now the big question is: did VMware manage to supersede Parallels once again in performance?
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Location:
    Dutch Mountains
    #16
    I am running Parallels and Windows did not come included.... not sure about VMware.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    AppleInTheMud

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    Vojens Denmark
    #17
    Well I'm convinced and eat my words. Downloading.

    If I'll be disappointed I'll come get you :)
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    #18
    A Virtual Machine program never has a host OS included afaik (especially not the paid ones). There are virtual machines that you can download for certain VM systems.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #19
    Where are all the comments like "annual subscription", "these upgrades should be free", "I will never buy from that company again" like we say in the Parallels thread? There is even less innovation warranting the upgrade prices in Fusion 7 than there is in Parallels 10.
     
  20. macrumors 68030

    Steve121178

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #20
    "Access virtual machines hosted on VMware vSphere, ESXi or Workstation"

    This makes it an essential upgrade even if it was the only new feature! And as a professional product, most people will have been upgrading each year anyway.

    It also looks like version 6 isn't supported on Yosemite...
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Location:
    Dutch Mountains
    #21
    When you buy Parallels Desktop, you still have to get a Windows copy to install on it, it does not come along. They do supply other OS's like Linux etc, but no MS Stuff.

    ----------

    Actually Parallels 10 is much faster than 9.....
     
  22. macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #22
    Well, I'm an "IT person" and I prefer Windows 8.1 (in desktop mode, if you want to call it that) over any of its predecessors. Why? It's MUCH faster than Win 7 or XP. It's more secure out of the box than any other desktop OS on the market. It's rock solid.

    All that being said - if you NEED to run Windows on a Mac - or a PC that is supposed to run Linux as its main operating system - you have chosen the wrong main platform for your daily work. You should have stayed with Windows, period.

    Virtualization is awesome - but as I've said, I'm an "IT person". I run dozens of production servers on a VMWare vSphere cluster. Solutions like VMWare Fusion are awesome for developers and for learning and testing purposes.

    But like I've said, if you NEED such a tool on your desktop machine to run an application that you NEED for your daily work - you should have chosen Windows as your main platform, period. It doesn't make any sense to double your platform complexity and maintenance costs just because you bought into some hype and decided to go with an OS that does not have the application software that you NEED.
     
  23. AndyB2007, Sep 3, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2014

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #23
    Are there any real world comparisons (I know its early) between this and parallels? I've been on parallels since the start (everyone else I know seems to be on vmware), however whenever upgrade time comes around I like to check things like:

    Will the old version still support the latest OS (yes I know its not required, but nice to know if I upgrade to yosemite, that theres no breaking changes and I can no longer access my VMs)

    Whats the procedure like to jump from parallels to vmware? (or vice-versa)

    Does vmware play nicely with timemachine? (parallels does if you change the settings and have plenty of disk space)

    I've been running windows 8.1 (my main vm is 7 pro) inside parallels for ages, whats the real change in fusion for this?

    retina displays? fixing windows itself to properly support retina would be good start, shame they can't do that - I keep getting dialog boxes with no buttons (and thats on native machines too - not just VMs).

    Has anyone used vmware or parallels on an osx server? (I'm thinking of setting up a mac mini server, the vmware pro network virtual networks may swing this for me)
     
  24. macrumors 68030

    Steve121178

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #24
    Don't think that your requirements matches the real world requirements. As an example at my company we have 100's of VDI users running 8.1.

    Remember that users on tablets such as iPad's can use Windows Virtual Desktops via VMware Horizon and 8.1 is far more suited to touch than the non-touch optimised Windows 7!
     
  25. macrumors 65816

    MacBH928

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #25
    Is there any advantage to running Windows in bootcamp over Parallels/Fusion?
     

Share This Page