vmware fusion change hard drive size

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by brianj, Nov 17, 2007.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #1
    Hello,

    How do I change the hard drive size of a image in fusion?

    The settings are locked under the virtual machine -> settings menu.

    Best regards
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #2
    +1! I am also looking to decrease the size of my image. I installed Vista 64 on my new MBP and have it 60GB of space. I would like to lower it to about 30GB. Anyway I can do this??
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #3
  4. macrumors 6502

    micsaund

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #4
    Expanding the disk itself is very easy.

    1) Open a Terminal
    2) cd to the directory with the .vmdk you wish to expand.
    3) Run: "/Applications/VMware\ Fusion.app/Contents/MacOS/diskTool -X 50GB <file.vmdk>" where 50GB is the size you want and file.vmdk is the correct name for your VM.
    4) Wait.

    Now, the issue you run into is that you're increasing the physical (virtual) drive size, but the guest OS doesn't know about this. Just as if you had a 100GB drive, formatted it, installed Windows, and then somehow magically increased the disk to 120GB -- the formatting/partitioning is still set for 100GB.

    What this means is that you'll have a larger drive, but the Windows install will only be configured for the old size. You must expand the partition within the VM. You can do this via something like Partition Magic or Acronis Disk Suite. I recently used Gparted (free) to expand a partition in a VM and it worked fine.

    Mike
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #5
    Caveat

    Just be careful if you have snapshots doing this will get you in trouble. You need to commit them before resizing first.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #6
  7. macrumors 68030

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    NY State of mind
    #7
    I did it a few months back with my mini because I was running out of disk space and didn't need such a big VM. However, I can't find the source I used to do it...but it was all within Fusion, I didn't have to do any Terminal commnds. I remember I had to delete all the old snapshots before it would let me shrink the drive.
     

Share This Page