VMware Fusion on Mountain Lion

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by andy8, Jul 29, 2012.

  1. andy8, Jul 29, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2012

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #1
    Mountain Lion has been great so far but I'm experiencing very frequent (coloured balls) and sluggishness with VMware Fusion running on Windows 7 32-bit. I didn't have this problem with Lion. Currently vmware-vmx on Activity Monitor shows 101% CPU usage. I did clean install with Mountain Lion.

    I have a Macbook Pro 13inch 2.26GHz (mid-2009) model and 4GB RAM. I don't know if I should upgrade my RAM to 8GB or go for a SSD. Which of these will be best as an upgrade for a overall system smoothness ?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    #2
    Just wait for an update of VMware.
    Current release of fusion has reportedly issues with MountainLion right now.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
  4. macrumors 68000

    sjinsjca

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #4
    What version are you using? I haven't wrung it out thoroughly since upgrading to ML but so far it seems to work fine here.

    The latest version is definitely something you'll want. Go to https://my.vmware.com/web/vmware/login and log in with your user credentials, and upgrade.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #5
    I am using version 4.1.3 which has to be the latest.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #6
    Mountain Lion using lots of CPU resource - VTDecoderXPCService

    I am experiencing inefficient CPU usage with Mountain Lion. Yesterday VMware Fusion was using ridiculuous amount of CPU - never had the problem with Lion, and today I saw another service called 'VTDecoderXPCService' using almost 70% of my CPU resource. I was watching a Youtube video on HTML5 as I use ClickToPlugin. If I pause the video, the VTDecoderXPCService CPU usage drops immediately.

    [​IMG]

    Anyone else have this problem ? Should I re-install Mountain Lion ? I had initially clean-installed Mountain Lion from Lion so don't know where the issue comes from.
     

Share This Page