VMWare Fusion + Windows 7 + MBP Retina?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by insimbi, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502

    insimbi

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    #1
    Has anyone been able to try this yet? I'll be getting my RMBP and am required to run Windows 7 in VMWare Fusion. Are there drivers that will work? Will the wifi, video, audio, etc all work correctly?

    Just have a lot of questions. If anyone can be of help, I'd appreciate it.

    Thanks! :cool:
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    daleski75

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    #2
    All the drivers will be fine as they are vmware's own within the guest machine
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    FL
    #3
    I'm not to worried about drivers. I'm more worried as to how it will scale and look on the retina screen.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    insimbi

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    #4
    Well, that too of course. We need someone who has a RMBP to let us know :)
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #5
    Windows 7 Display Drivers

    I've installed VMWare Fusion on my MBPRD and my issue seems to be display driver related. The only thing that seems to work is the VMWare SVGA 3D driver which is ancient and Aero doesn't work. Does anyone know what display drivers should be used to achieve any of the virtual 3D card effects? Thanks.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    gwsat

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #6
    I would hope that's a short term problem. I have used VMware Fusion for going on 5 years and the company has been very good about providing Windows drivers that work with current Mac technology. Thus, I can't believe they won't roll out drivers to accommodate the Retina display before long.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    #7
    I moved my Windows 7 VM over from my Air to my RMBP and had some really weird behavior. I'm running the RMBP in 1920x1200 mode, and this caused the VM when in full screen to set its resolution to 3840x2400. Basically everything ended up being SUPER tiny, and ultra blurry.

    If I run the VM in windowed mode, or unity mode, everything works perfectly. If I run full screen mode and manually set the resolution to 1920x1200, it also works perfectly except sometimes it'll flip back to tiny-blurry vision...

    I think there are some kinks to be worked out, but it's still very usable.
     
  8. Ozy
    macrumors regular

    Ozy

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Goodyear, AZ
    #8
    The VM thinks its native resolution is the non-retina equivalent. Running in 1440x900 HiDPI mode, VMware and Parallels both show fuzzy 1440x900 images. I hope they update it soon!
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    daleski75

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    #9
    I thought parallels got updated already to support retina?
     
  10. Ozy
    macrumors regular

    Ozy

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Goodyear, AZ
    #10
    Changelog shows Retina display support, but there are other bugs. It crashes on Ubuntu on startup, and is a complaint on the Parallels forum.

    I'm also not exactly sure what to expect from VMware or Parallels when it comes to Retina. Are we hoping to be able to run the VMs at a much higher resolution independent from OSX's native resolution?
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    daleski75

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    #11
    Not sure it's difficult to tell really but hopefully they will fix all the bugs given time.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    MadTester

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    #12
  13. Ozy
    macrumors regular

    Ozy

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Goodyear, AZ
    #13
    I have used SwitchResX and its quite awesome. But honestly, in my aging years (36), I'm not finding the native 1440x900 that bad. My prior MBP was a 1680x1050 and I found myself zooming in a bit using ^(scroll up/down). I am hoping that Retina support in VMware and Parallels simply lets us set higher resolutions inside the VM than the OS X host resolution. I'd like a 1680x1050 w7 VM running on my OSX 1440x900 HiDPI desktop windowed.

    It seems, as far as I can see, that the only thing Retina support added to Parallels is increased resolution on the application's images, text, and background assets.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    #14
  15. macrumors regular

    MadTester

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    #15
    Agreed... maybe i'm fortunate/unfortunate not to have the rMBP (even though it's rather tempting) as I have a 15" hi-res matt uMBP (October2011). It will serve me for the next however long it will last.....

    BTW @covertsurfer.... did/do you read posts before you reply? ;)
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    #16
    How is your CPU-Usage of vmware while the vm is idle? On my RMBP vmware-vmx takes about 30% while the VM is at 0% :eek:
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    #17
    Latest VMWare Fusion + Windows 8 + MBPR

    I moved my Windows 8 Release Preview from my Air to my new MBPR and, like others on the site, was greeted with the new ultra resolution and everything seemed way too small and the login screen did not render correctly.

    I accidentally discovered a quirky work around with out having to moving out of full screen mode:

    While the VM is running at or past the login screen, not the bios boot up do the following:

    - Open the Virtual Machine > Settings menu.
    - Select the Display option.
    - Double click the disabled "Accelerated 3D Graphics" rocker switch
    - Presto Fusion turns off the dialog and switches to scaled mode and everything sizes accordingly, slightly pixelated but much more usable IMO.

    *Incidentally "Accelerated 3D Graphics" is selected ON in my Virtual Machine. I do not know if it works if it were OFF.

    Hope this helps
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #18
    in Parallels my win 7 guest is only using around 3-7% on idle with some short bursts to 15-20%
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    #19
    same thing for me
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 6502

    insimbi

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    #20
    Still waiting on my rMBP to arrive next week. Any changes to VMWare Fusion to support Retina yet? :confused:
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #21
    I installed WMWare Fusion and Windows 7 on rMBP yesterday and it ran fine.
    You just have to toggle the fullscreen control for the resolution to auto adjust to whatever your current mac setting. It's not a big deal. I'm perfectly happy with the setup. Highly recommended!
    I'll be installing Visual Studio and SQL server next.

    Overall, I'm very satisfied with my purchase.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors 6502

    insimbi

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    #22
    Very good to hear. I already have Fusion 4 and didn't want to purchase Parallels. Thanks for your comment and now I feel better about it :D
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #23
    I can use retina, because is not possible downgrade the resolution... with retina is too small!

    how can use retina with a decent resolution?
     

Share This Page