VNC & Dual-Boot Windows Box Question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by micvog, Mar 26, 2006.

  1. micvog macrumors 6502

    micvog

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #1
    I have an iMac G5 and an old Windows box (the Windows box has no monitor, keyboard or mouse). I am using VNC to remote-control the Windows box.

    I have set up the Windows box to dual boot between Ubuntu and Windows. Does anyone have a recommendation on how to, from my Mac, select between Windows and Ubuntu? AFAIK I would need to connect a keyboard and select the OS I want to use during the boot sequence (since, obviously, VNC is not loaded so I can't do that from my Mac).

    Thanks.
     
  2. joshysquashy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Ubuntu works on macs last i heard, i downloaded the ppc version and it works fine, perhaps thats a much better solution!

    that way the windows box can do what its good at, and the ubuntu will b faster cause it will be local.
     
  3. micvog thread starter macrumors 6502

    micvog

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #3
    Thanks for the idea joshysquashy. Last version of Ubuntu I tried on my iMac G5 was 5.04 and it didn't work (as I recall it was something to do with the SATA interface which caused Ubuntu not to see my hard drive). I haven't tried it with 5.10... I will look into that.

    However, I would still rather get Ubuntu on the Windows box. I am more likely to need the Mac and Ubuntu desktops up at the same time than the Ubuntu and Windows desktops.
     
  4. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    What bootloader are you using?

    if you are looking for the equivilent of "Startup Disk" in Macs control panel, I think you are out of luck.
     
  5. joshysquashy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    You will never be able to remote control a computer before the os starts. Unless you can create a method of "restarting in ubuntu" or visa versa you will have to add a keyboard, and probably a monitor if you want to see what you are doing...
     
  6. micvog thread starter macrumors 6502

    micvog

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #6
    GRUB
     
  7. micvog thread starter macrumors 6502

    micvog

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #7
    That's what I was afraid of. I will research GRUB some more; perhaps it is possible to select the default OS from either Windows or Ubuntu by editing a text file. So, for example, if I am in Windows and I want to reboot into Ubuntu, I could write a script that edits the text file appropriately and then re-boots Windows. Conversely, if I am in Ubuntu, and want to re-boot to Windows I would edit the text file to select Windows.
     

Share This Page