VNC Question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by todd2000, Feb 12, 2006.

  1. todd2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Location:
    Danville, VA
    #1
    I have installed RealVNC Server on my Windows XP computer, I have tried multiple VNC clients on my Mac to connect to it and nothing seems to work. Is there something im missing? Anyone else use VNC to control their PC from Mac? Which Server do you use on the PC, and which Client on the Mac. I am currently using a KVM and want to upgrade to an iMac so I can't use it as a display for my IBM so I need this to work. Thanks
     
  2. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    I use Chicken of the VNC on my Mac to connect to my parent's PC running RealVNC Server. Works over an internet connection between Boston area and the midwest, so I'm guessing it'd work for you.

    Note that you need to be sure any firewall software is set up to allow the traffic through.
     
  3. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
  4. todd2000 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Location:
    Danville, VA
    #4
    Im using that server and client, and it doesn't seem to work. I'll read that other thread and see.
     
  5. todd2000 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Location:
    Danville, VA

Share This Page