Vodafone ships USB 3G modem for Macs

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Nov 25, 2006.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    #1
  2. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #2
    Interesting, they've been selling these in NZ for a couple of months now.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #3
    why can't some american carriers do this? I'd buy that in an instant!
     
  4. macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #4
    I'm sure they will soon...Macs have been getting more popular lately. The problem is that the monthly service cost is really high for the access. :(
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    Analog Kid

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    #5
    There is the problem... I'd pick one of these up for as-needed use, but the providers haven't found that market yet-- they want to business grade rates on the assumption that there's a market out there that is desperate for the access. I'm sure there is such a market, but I'd guess it's much smaller that the market for folks like me... I wonder if they could make it work at $5 an hour or so with international access to be competitive with internet cafes when I'm traveling.
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #6
    Sprint was advertising one of their PC Card 3G modems (Sierra Wireless AirCard 580) as Mac OS X compatible and the replacement (AirCard 595) is waiting for drivers that should be available shortly.

    Sierra Wireless do have a USB version of the 595 as well, though Sprint chose another brand.

    My phone works quite well at 3G speeds.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #7
    Yeah, but I thought that they were only PPC at tthe moment, and the drivers were not yet universal, maybe this includes Intel software , as they have been saying they will have it available "real soon"
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    winmacguy

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    Maybe they have been using us as a test bed to see how the market would react. I was interested to note the reference to Mac users when I first saw the flyers in the Herald recently.
     
  9. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #9
    You're right. I assumed that it would "just work", as I've come to expect on a Mac :cool:
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #10
    Automatic Connection

    Does anyone know of a way to make it automatically connect?. Right now you have to start the application, have it activate the modem, type in your mac username and password, then go to internet connect and connect. Way too many steps.
     
  11. j26
    macrumors 65816

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #11
    I'm using mine now in work (they don't trust us with them damned internet tubes here).

    Mine has never asked for password, I just launch the app, activate and connect. It mustn't be saving your username and password for some reason.
    Even better, mine's malfunctioning slightly, and all I need to do is launch the app and connect, no need to activate :) . It is a defect, but it's working in my favour so I'm not complaining.

    It was launched in Ireland at €129 for the modem and a €39.99 a month contract for 5 gigs a month. That seems pretty good to me.
     

Share This Page