Voice commands?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by twoodcc, Jul 23, 2006.

  1. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #1
    i visited a friend the other day, and he had a new Macbook. he could hold down esc and say "open itunes" and it opened. how can i get my mac to do this? my iMac and powerbook have built-in microphones.

    i feel bad since i'm a more expierenced mac user than him. i was showing him how to use imovie and stuff.
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
  3. poppe macrumors 68020

    poppe

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Woodland Hills
    #3
    That is so fricken cool. Just think if they put a mic on the Front Row remote! Then you could be sitting across room and playing iTunes, though I suppose pointless and useless (good bragging points).

    What else can you do with voice command? Typing or do you need software for that?
     
  4. someguy macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #4
    Basically anything if you configure it yourself. Although, in my experiences, it doesn't work that well. Maybe I just talk funny or something. :eek:
     
  5. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #5
    thanks, i finally figured it out
     
  6. poppe macrumors 68020

    poppe

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Woodland Hills
    #6
    My DS tells me that... I keep trying to play brain age but it doesn't work..

    How to you configure it to do all that?
     
  7. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Same for me, I have never used it, I tried using it as a password on OS 9 but it all went horribly wrong :eek:
     

Share This Page