"Voicemail unavailable"

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by chadrob30, Feb 5, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502

    chadrob30

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my Mac.
    #1
    So, all day today I've been getting the "Voicemail Unavailable. Unable to connect. Try again later" Any ideas what's going on?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    waterskier2007

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    White Lake, MI
    #2
    you have no edge service. the voicemail service uses edge data service
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    tjcampbell

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #3
    Can people still leave voicemail though?

    I was in Spain and turned data roaming off, which disables visual voicemail and someone told me that when they called they said my number was out of service. :confused:
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    iHerzeleid

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    #4
    Yea it directly goes to VM.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    chadrob30

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my Mac.
    #5
    So if I'm at home on my wi-fi but EDGE is down I can't get voicemails? Doesn't make much sense but I guess it is what it is...anywho, I rebooted the phone and I got a whole day's worth of voicemail. All is well now.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    akirkorian

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #6
    Solution

    After traveling in Europe for three weeks and having data roaming off, I had this issue as well. I tried a number of different solutions that I found on the Internet, but ultimately I was able to finally get it resolved after spending time on the phone with the ATT support tech. The problem seemed to be that the iPhone "forgot" what the features were to access voicemail. Here's what we did:

    1. Go to Settings->General->Reset and reset the network settings. The phone will restart.

    2. Go to the Phone and open the dialpad. Type in the following sequence on the iPhone and hit the CALL button.

    *5005*86*8622513567#

    3. After you hit the CALL button you will notice the screen flashes. :)

    4. That's it.


    After implementing these steps, visual voicemail popped up and worked right away on both 3G and 2G.

    Alen
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #7
    Dear Alen, It worked just beautiful, I had exactly the same situation after I spent a couple of weeks in Europe. Let me tell you that at first I had my doubts because of the carrier, it is different from mine, but it helped me to solve my problem transparently. Thank you so much for sharing.

    Imelda
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    #8
    Thank you Alan Kirkorkian - your solution worked great! Beforehand, though, I went in and looked at all my network settings so I could make sure I knew how to configure it again. I had to enter in my wi-fi password again once I got the voicemail working again.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    #9
    Voicemail unavailable. Unable to connect. Try again later.

    [/COLOR]I just bought a iPone 4S and I'm getting the above message every time I try to set up my voicemail. Any ideas?
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #10
    I'm having this issue as well on my 4s. It tells me that the voicemail is unavailable. Does anybody know why?
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    #11
    AMAZING! IT WORKED! I contacted verizon to see what they could do to assist with the problem. They are sending me a new iPhone because they think it is the iPhone that is not working properly. I am amazed that following the steps noted above only took two minutes yet verizon is sending a new phone. Oh well at least it is working. Thanks!!!!!;)
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #12
    Still works on iPhone 4s for Verizon

    Works great. I did some research and it seems to reset how the iPhone connects to VM system.
     
  13. DSHoisington, Oct 11, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    #13
    WORKED FOR ME: Check if you have an application called Onavo Extend on your phone. I found deleting the profile in Settings > General fixed the error.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    #14
    Deleting the Onavo Profile! Genius.

    Deleting the Onavo Profile also worked for me. Thanks DSHoisington
     

Share This Page