"VolumeSnap" Feature Returns to Camera+

Discussion in 'iOS Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Nov 16, 2011.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    VolumeSnap has returned to the excellent iOS photography app Camera+.

    Last year, developer TapTapTap released an update to its Camera+ application with a small hack -- users could press the volume-up button to take a picture, instead of needing to press a soft-button on the screen.

    This was considered an unauthorized hack and Apple banned the app until TapTapTap removed the feature. Apple then borrowed this innovation for iOS 5, and now users can press the Volume Up button to take pictures in the native iPhone camera app.

    Camera+ for iPhone is available for $0.99 on the App Store [Direct Link].

    Article Link: "VolumeSnap" Feature Returns to Camera+
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #2
    Any app, if it uses the built in camera API, now inherits this feature as well.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Apple did not 'borrow' this. It was clearly a planned feature hence Apple blocked it.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    #4
    Do you have any proof to this? How do you know that Camera+ didn't have this on their planned feature list before Apple?
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #5
    If you can't beat them/think of it first, then block them citing DA violations regarding 'unauthorised' use of API. Then do a 180-degree U-turn once you've utilised the idea into you own OS.

    Not Apple's finest hour this...
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    #6
    There was a jailbreak for this long before Camera+ included it.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #7
    On update...

    "Volume snap is back, beyotches!"

    :D
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #8
    And by having the publicity from Apple removing the original Easter egg from this app, the developer has made MILLIONS of dollars that she wouldn't have without said publicity.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
  10. macrumors 68030

    Tinmania

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Location:
    Aridzona
    #10
    iRonically I had two updates earlier: one for Camera+ and the other for Camera Genius. Both had one-line blurbs about the update.

    Camera+: "Volume snap is back, beyotches!"

    Camera Genius:"Removal of Volume Shot as requested by Apple."


    Too funny!!!!




    Michael
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    "Apple then borrowed this innovation for iOS 5"

    A more accurate description would be "apple blatantly and outright stole this idea"
     
  12. Guest

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    #12
    Editorialize much? :roll eyes:

    I wasn't aware Mr. Golson was allowed to speak for MR.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    coder12

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #13
    Are you kidding me? Mr. Golson IS MR ;) :rolleyes:

    </sarcasm>
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    In the middle
    #14
    Too bad it doesn't actually work...

    Is there some trick or secret to activating this function, or is it an iOS 5 only feature? Because I downloaded the update and tried it. When I push the volume up button while in the Camera+ app all that happens is that my volume is turned up. I have iOS 4.2 on an iPhone 4, as I am waiting to upgrade to iOS 5 once they've got a couple of .x updates to it.
     
  15. BigDukeSix, Nov 16, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2011

    macrumors 6502a

    BigDukeSix

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    34.6700N 118.1590W
    #15
    I am wondering the exact same thing! I hope it works on iOS 4. I already have the app and I like it, but not sure what I need to do. I did just download the upgrade, but still not quite sure what else I need to do.
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #16
    Man you guys don't know what you're missing. iOS 5 offers such significant API and core language benefits to developers that our company's basically closed the book on iOS 4 for good.

    For example: this function, which is not legal under iOS 4 but is built in to 5.

    Get yourselves in the future. Don't like it (you will), you can always restore.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    kuwxman

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Location:
    Olathe, KS
    #17
    Just an iOS 5 feature, it seems. I just tried taking a picture with the volume button (on a 4S, 5.0) and it worked with zero issues.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    BigDukeSix

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    34.6700N 118.1590W
    #18
    I am suspecting that they just made the app match what the existing iOS 5 apple camera app does.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #19
    Yea, as a Camera Genius user I saw that update and just figured another one of those incomprehensible Apple decisions, now seeing Camera+ gets it though I'm wondering what gives? Hopefully it just has to do with the way Camera Genius was coding it and it'll come back.
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #20
    They are no longer using the 'hack' they had to do before to get it to work but the app did have to be updated to make use of the new API.
     
  21. macrumors regular

    AmpSkillz

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    I'm everywhere & you're never there
    #21
    I doubt they made millions after the app was removed by Apple.. maybe from the original publicity of the feature.
     
  22. macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #22
    There are good reasons not to have this: the volume switch becomes only “sometimes” volume, and the tap-trigger jiggles the camera less (since it triggers on release and has no physical click). You can say that user confusion only matters on major issues, but the great iOS experience is actually a sum of many small choices, with pro-user motivations just like this policy (when it was in effect).

    There are good reasons TO have this: people asked for it! Camera+ demonstrated/encouraged that request. A click feel is, after all, familiar (and doing it via the headphone remote is actually useful at times).

    Did Apple block Camera+ so they could “steal” the idea (Evil Apple as always!) or did the developer agreement ALREADY forbid the use of the hardware buttons for non-standard purposes? Hint: the latter is true.

    Then Apple changed that policy, because they LISTEN to people and flexible. This is but one of a constant stream of examples of how Apple adapts and improves. They are not fairytale tyrants, they are innovators seeking the best experience for us, and making great calls, and making bad calls, and fixing them.

    However, because Apple is Always Evil™, they are both evil when they do NOT change a policy, and evil when they do :p

    So, since we know they’re always evil in all cases, no matter what, and facts don’t matter... lets enjoy the change in both the native app and Camera+ :)
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    BigDukeSix

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    34.6700N 118.1590W
    #23
    I just want it to work on my iOS 4 phone so it is more ergonomic than trying to take a picture using the button on the screen.
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #24
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    A nice synopsis of Apple's idea of innovation going forward.
     
  25. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    In the middle
    #25
    Not so sure...

    Actually, from what I understand from information I've read online, once you upgrade your device to iOS 5, you CAN NOT go back to iOS 4. Can anyone else verify or discredit this particular information for us?
     

Share This Page