Vpc 5

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Sauron's Master, Sep 6, 2003.

  1. Sauron's Master macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA / New York, NY
    #1
    As I have read that VPC 6 will not work on G5's, does anyone know if previous versions will? If so, do you know where I can buy or otherwise acquire a copy?
     
  2. mattmack macrumors 6502a

    mattmack

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco Area
    #2
    Re: Vpc 5

    I would doubt it, ut you never know
     
  3. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #3
    since there hasnt been any drastic changes in vpc i cant see how it would. i mean i havent tried but i gonna feel 100 percent sure it wont work, plus 6 is slow enough, and its faster than 5, which was the first os x version.

    iJon
     
  4. Sauron's Master thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA / New York, NY
    #4
    Well, the reason VPC 6.0+ doesn't work on G5's is because of the pseudo-endian emulation thing, which was implemented to increased speed. I've heard that VPC 5 does not include this, hence it's slower but may run on G5's. Besides, if people can stand running VPC 5 or 6 on current dual G4's, I think I can safely say I can stand using VPC 5 on my dual G5 if it works. ;-)
     
  5. j05h macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    #5
    You can always find any Mac software your looking for somewhere on hotline. You should be able to find an old version of VPC. Try www.tracker-tracker.com . You can find mac software on limewire (A file sharing program like kazaa). You can sometimes find mac software on kazaa.
     
  6. mattmack macrumors 6502a

    mattmack

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco Area
    #6
    But isn't that improper not to mention on the gray side of legal. (unless of course you have every intention to buy the program and are just trying it out;)
     
  7. ZildjianKX macrumors 68000

    ZildjianKX

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    #7
    If you own Virtual PC 6, I really don't think its that bad if you "download" VPC 5 so it can actual be functional on your new computer... but I guess the license agreement specifies it can only be used on one computer at a time anyways. But if anyone can try out VPC 5 on their G5, that would be cool.
     
  8. GodOD macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    #9
    VPC and G5s don't work...

    An update from Micro$oft should be available either Q1 or Q2 of this year. I just tried it on mine to see and it doesn't work. It will install, but when you try to start up your PC state it will crash. Crap....
     

Share This Page