VPC for games??

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by BenWakin, Jun 19, 2003.

  1. BenWakin macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego
  2. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #2
    solitare and kazaa are the only things VPC can do well. Its generally slow as a turtle with a broken leg
     
  3. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #3
    VPC cannot do any 3D games becuase it uses a generic video card for its emulation. It will not play any 3D games, if that is what you meant by "games".
     
  4. jkojima macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    #4
    VPC is fine for older 2D games. Just last week I played Warcraft II in VPC with absolutely no lag. It's also fine for adventure games like Myst, and console emulators.

    Newer games that rely on full motion video or 3D graphics are a totally different story - you would not like the experience of trying to run a shooter in VPC - if it will run at all. The program emulates a low-end wintel system (I believe it's a Pentium I or II with an equally obsolete video card) so many games simply refuse to run, citing insufficient hardware.

    In other words, if you are a Mac user and a moderate to serious gamer you are either stuck with the pretty meager selection of Mac games (relative to the industry at large), or you would want to keep a PC or gaming console handy.
     
  5. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #5
    save your money and build a pc, thats the best game to play the games you want.

    iJon
     
  6. Golem macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney,Australia
    #6
    VPC 4 seemed better for games than 5 but both are ok for older 2d stategy games. I have played red alert and ummm War something.... Not craft. On vpc in past few years and used to play civ II on pc before it came out for mac.

    But I havent bothered in last couple of years as their is way more good games out for the mac then I have time to play anyway.
     
  7. Huked on Fonick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    1 Loop
    #7
    uh warcraft 2 works on mac....why would u run it in VPC, all blizzard games are duelies(on same cd) not sure about warcraft 1...
     
  8. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    The older games aren't originally duals. I've got v1.00 of Starcraft and it's only got the Windows version on there. But the newer versions have the Mac one too.
     
  9. bradz_id macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    #9
    I have a 1GHz eMac with 768MB RAM and Mac OS X 10.2.6. Virtual PC 6.0.1 works fine for most games that support OpenGL (not DirectX or Direct3D). Virtual PC 6 is much better because it actually does use hardware acceleration and it can emulate 16MB VRAM if you have a 32MB graphics card or better. My Virtual PC has the following Specs: 531MHz PII with MMX, 384MB RAM, 16MB VRAM. By the way, DON'T build a PC box! Windows SUX ASS! Mac OS X is so much better. VPC 6 and 10.2 are must haves.
     
  10. Huked on Fonick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    1 Loop
    #10
    i have that verson of starcraft to and it plays on my mac, only the installer isent there, borrow an installer from someone and ur set, i did this with diablo and diablo 2. because i got v1.0 cds that dident support mac..

    i do wish they would carbonise war 2 thought.....
     
  11. sen_almighty macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    #11
    where do you guys get money from to get all this software?!?! i was lookin on sites and VPC and stuff is some expensive shyte!
     
  12. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #12
    Yes it is expensive, a couple of us just keep upgrading from a lower version which is cheaper, and a few use other means.

    BTW, you have a PM. :rolleyes:
     
  13. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #13
    yes Mac OS X is much better for the topic of the thread, games. windows does not suck if you take care of it. I have a nice windows machine that I play all my games on. I'll admit windows isnt as nice and Mac OS X, thats why i dont use windows for anything for games. But when you play a game, your not interacting with windows are you. My windows machine is as stable as all my Mac's, they dont crash or freeze, its just windows isnt a fun working enviroment for dad to day use. VPC 6 is not the solution for games.

    iJon
     

Share This Page