VPC w/MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Aramis, Mar 2, 2006.

1. Aramis macrumors member

Aramis

I recently purchased VPC 7.0.2 but am having a heck of a time getting it up and running. I am fairly new to Macs, and have been trying to learn as much as possible from reading and trial by error, BUT this has stumped me. I installed the app and upon reboot was informed that security settings had changed for a select group of folders. I selected "fix" and did a reboot. After a restart I tried to start VPC and it continues to say, "The application VPC quit unexpedtedly". Do a reopen same thing. Reinstall, same thing.

Is it even supported on the Intel? Am I wasting my time?

Thank you!

2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

WildCowboy

Staff Member

3. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

SilentPanda

Well... I doubt an Intel version is coming soon (past has shown that they are slow to bring new versions). Currently your VPC will be running through a PPC emulator (rosetta) to emulate an Intel chip. Funny huh?

It very well might not work.

4. CoMpX macrumors 65816

CoMpX

Unfortunately, VPC is not supported by Intel *yet*. Sorry you wasted your money on it.

5. yankeefan24 macrumors 65816

yankeefan24

yes, you are wasting your time. it is not supported on the intel macs (to my knowledge.)

VPC for mac emulates a x86 chip, and runs windows in a seperate window. So on the intel, what it is doing is having rossetta emulate a PPC chip so it can emulate a x86 chip. M$ should offer a UB soon, and then it will fly, but until then, VPC on intel macs is a no go.

EDIT: other people got here before me… but it is all true.

6. Aramis thread starter macrumors member

Aramis

I was just on that page but overlooked that entry due to my frustrations - lesson learned. I sincerely appreciate the quick responses. I have a friend who bought a PB that was going to order as well, ill just sell to him.

Again - thanks!

7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan