VPC6 CPU Emulation Speed

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Rower_CPU, May 31, 2003.

  1. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    Just curious to see what kinds of speeds other folks using VPC6 are getting on their machines.

    Here's what I get on my 1GHz TiBook:
    [​IMG]

    I used a utility called WCPUID and went to Tweaks>Real Time Clock Checker to "benchmark".
     
  2. Wes macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Mine, strange, a while ago I had a different app that told me it was 1.2 ghz (Dual Proc). I will try in XP Pro in a few mins.
     
  3. Wes macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
  4. Megaquad macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    #4
    I am suuure this application shows correct speed. And I am suuuure my crappy slow VPC speed is close to this.
    I would say 100 Mhz.
     
  5. Rower_CPU thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    Hmmm, yeah that seems to be all over the place.

    Anyone know of any apps that are more accurate? I only used this one because it's pretty much the standard on "real" PCs.
     
  6. taeclee99 macrumors 6502a

    taeclee99

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    Anywhere but here
    #6
    I just loaded windows 95 in vpc 6. It is way faster than windows 2k on my tibook 1 gig. Win95 does seem a little flaky at times though. And running vpc6 in os9 is a bit faster than in OSX.
     
  7. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #7
    i think the problem with getting a MHz rating in VPC is what to compare it to. for all we know it could basically be emulating a Pentium Classic thats running at 700MHz.
     
  8. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #8
    Why not just use a normal PC preformance app?

    I mean then you can really 'compare'.
    Look at any tomshardware.com tests.

    Then you can really compare.
    here
     
  9. Rower_CPU thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #9
    Well, WCPUID is a "normal PC performance app". It's used all the time by overclockers to see what speed their CPUs are running.

    As for benchmarking apps, like the ones Tom's Hardware uses, Sisoft Sandra is a pretty good bet.

    Here's my results with Sandra:
    [​IMG]

    Looks like it's a "Connectix Pentium Pro", sparkleytone. Don't bother using the CPU speed given in the CPU and BIOS Info screen - mine ranged from 700MHz to 200+GHz. :rolleyes:

    At least you can get a power rating, and compare to other CPUs. My MIPS fell consistently between 3400-3700.
     
  10. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #10
    i remember sandra: it was slow as all **** on a pc as well. i admire you for running it in VPC.
     
  11. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    You can't run individual component benchmarks on an emulator and expect valid results. The only sort of benchmarks that work on emulators are ones that test the system as a whole, rather than the components of the system.
     
  12. Rower_CPU thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #12
    What do you suggest? ZD benchmarks? 3Dmark?

    If you get into anything that looks at 3D performance VPC is screwed.
     
  13. barleymagrew macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #13
    KAZAA PC EMULATION

    I am looking to buy an emac G4 700

    Is it possible to use a PC EMulator on an emac 700 G4 to surf the web.

    In particular I want to use Kazaa so was thinking of trying it through the browser in Virtual PC.

    Has anyone tried it?

    Please help as my heart is saying buy Mac but my brain is shouting PC
     
  14. Rower_CPU thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #14
    Re: KAZAA PC EMULATION

    Haven't tried it, but surfing the web works just fine on VPC. The ports might be tricky, but it's worth a shot.
     
  15. barleymagrew macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #15
    Sorry, I'm new to the whole computer stuff. (I've always just used work ones)

    Why would the ports be tricky - isnt that just where you plug in the stuff like printers etc.

    Apologies for the ignorance!
     
  16. Rower_CPU thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #16
    Sorry, I mean Internet ports. There are certain ports that are used on the Internet for certain kinds of traffic, for instance port 80 is for the WWW.

    Kazaa most likely uses some other port number, which may or may not work with VPC. I'll give it a try tonight and report back, unless someone beats me to it.
     
  17. barleymagrew macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #17
    Brilliant!

    Thankyou so much. Cant wait to find out.
     
  18. Wes macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #18
  19. barleymagrew macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #19
    Nice one, just what I needed to hear. Do you think it would be ok on a 700mhz G4 emac?
     
  20. vollspacken macrumors 65816

    vollspacken

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Location:
    Boogie-Down Berlintown
    #20
    sure, I use VP6 on my TiBook 1Ghz for exactly that and it runs fine (XP with ALL eyecandy and bulls**t turned off or deinstalled)...

    vSpacken
     
  21. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #21
    I'm not going to suggest anything because I'm certainly not an expert when it comes to stuff like that. What I said before is basically all I know about it.
     
  22. bobindashadows macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    #22
    It might not be too bad

    I don't think some of those benchmarks would mess up VPC all that much, because with every single setting (including sound) turned down on Half-Life (original, of course), I can get 15 frames, 20 if i'm in water facing the ground ;) VPC is a ***** though...

    [edit]removed profanity[/edit]
     

Share This Page