VPC6 Woes

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by GPTurismo, Mar 3, 2003.

  1. GPTurismo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL USA
    #1
    Well, I was running VPC6 on my dual 1420 mac and everything was going good. I needed to run PC software to manage a Windows back up machine, I had a couple of instances of Red Hat which mimicked some of the inhouse servers, and an instance or Red Hat and SuSE just to learn with.

    Well, when I was installing the final instance of Red Hat it crashed during the install. Well, when I restarted, there were no pc's in my PC list, and when I tried to reinstall them, no go. So basically it had messed with all the drives I had installed or converted over to VPC6.

    Basically a rant because I am now looking at getting actual PCs instead of trying to use virtual PC because 2 or 3 of those installs were going to be used to manage some pretty important stuff. I guess it goes to show don't cut corners when it comes to mission critical apps.

    But if anyone knows of a fix or something I could have tried let me know. Even Disk Assistant wouldn't recognize the drives.

    Thanks
    GPT
     
  2. gbojim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    #2
    I had something very similar happen with Win2k. I rebooted OS X and the next time I started VPC they were back. I don't know if that was a coincidence but it worked.
     
  3. GPTurismo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL USA
    #3
    Very Bizarre. I tried rebooting X and still no go. I guess for the MUST have mission critical stuff, I need actual hardware. Everything else I am going to back up RIGHT after i install and make occasional back ups

    GPT
     
  4. moby1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
    #4
    Yep.

    I keep all my PC's from '95 to XPP on a couple of DVD's. Takes a while to copy to the drive but it's faster than a reinstall.
     
  5. dricci macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    #5
    Might want to try posting/searching at Connectix's forums. Their engineers read them and may be able to help.
     

Share This Page