VPN Connection - OSX and Cisco router

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by geri, May 15, 2004.

  1. geri macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    #1
    I am trying to connect to a Cisco router using the Panther VPN connection. They software ways I am connected but nothing on the network shows up. I have configured the IP addresses of the printers and of a database that I need to access but they don't appear.

    Can anyone help me out with this? The connection works perfectly with Windows.

    Thanks
     
  2. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #2
    could you explain your network situation better? i am assuming the vpn server is on cisco hardware, or is it on a server and you just using the router as a router?
     
  3. geri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    #3
    it is the cisco router (hardware) at work. windows machines have no problems logging in. thanks
     
  4. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #4
    use the cisco vpn client for Mac OS X, not the one the comes with OS X.
     
  5. geri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    #5
    I tried that but I got the following error - Warning 201: The necessary VPN sub-system is not available. You can not connect to the remote server. ?

    Unfortunately our IT guys don't know anything about Macs so I don't know if this is an error on my end or the router's end.

    Thanks for your help.

    Geri
     
  6. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #6
    which verison are you using?
     
  7. geri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
  8. denm316 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #8
    Try using a different VPN client, Cisco VPn Client version 4.0.3(3), I upgraded to that it it worked fine with my Cisco PIX Firewall VPn Solution.
     
  9. geri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    #9
    Do you know where I could get that version. Apparently you need to support contract to download that version and we don't have one. I am the only person using a Mac so I am kind of on my own here to make it work. Thanks
     
  10. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #10
    Search for it in google. A lot of universities have it to download for their students...
     
  11. GiantsFan macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Location:
    san jose OR riverside, Cali
    #11
    ugh, i coudlnt get cisco vpn to connect to my University. i give up
     
  12. DaBuzz macrumors member

    DaBuzz

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #12
    Hi all,

    I have to single-handedly provide support for Macs in my organization, even though I am in management...:). It's amazing how narrow-minded IT support can be. Even after testing a client's given group/password and user name on my Mac and PC, the IT staff insisted it was a Mac issue, until I had to prove them wrong. What a shame...

    We use the Cisco VPN client and it works great. If you need the latest version, I have it up on my iDisk public folder. You can email me for the account name.

    Remember, your group authentication is different than your user name. (This point seems to confuse some people.)

    The latest version is 4.0.3 (E).
     
  13. drew2002 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    #13
    VPN Problem

    Hi guys,
    I am having so trouble with my set-up I have the latest CISCO client i.e. 4.0.3 e on OS X 10.3 and when I try login to VPN it asks me to authenticate then it continues on like it should but when it comes to setting up the secure channel it asks me to authenticate again then it returns to the connection screen with not connected in the status bar.

    I original had 4.0.2 client which i uninstall before I install 4.0.3 client.

    Anyone have any suggestions I do have the OSX firewall running do I need to do something with that?

    Thanks
    Drew2002
     
  14. RoadKill macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Location:
    LONDON UK
    #14
    There are a few things you must know to login to a cisco vpn:

    The site IP address or fully qualified hostname, your username and password, either the group username and password or have a certificate.

    I know this is a horrid thing to ask a fellow mac user to do but can you login okay from a windows machine?

    If so, you maybe able to copy the .pcf file that lives somewhere like (from repressed memory :) C:\Program files\Cisco\VPN Client\Profiles\ to your mac and use to client to import it into your list of connections.

    Here comes the rub.

    Some sites, however, require that the client has a recognised firewall (Zone Alarm, Black ICE, Cisco built in one, none of which run on the Mac). If your site is like this, buy your friendly vpn admin some beer and ask to have a new group called something like MacUsers (and to let you know that group password) without the firewall requirement.

    You will just have to reassure him that you're running a BSD variant which has (and you know how to use) a very secure firewall. You also know the need to keep your system up to date. Then edit your connnection and replace the groups username and password.

    I am using a cisco vpn, but I'm the admin. mmmawwhahhahah. Trust me the beer works ;-)
     
  15. drew2002 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    #15
    Thanks

    Thanks Roadkill I do some digging and find out if we have a firewall requirement. And to answer you question yes my windows machine works fine, and I imported the setting from windows machine to my mac.

    Thanks again
    Drew2002
     

Share This Page