VPN, VNC, or Apple Remote Desktop 3 Help.....

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by gaza77, May 26, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    #1
    I have a Macbook Pro at home running Leopard and my friend has a Mac Pro running Snow Leopard at his house. How do I connect to his computer from mine when I'm on my home network and he is on his?

    I've tried Apple Remote Desktop 3. I made sure it was up to date and that the Mac Pro had updated client software. When I'm at his house connected through Wifi it works fine. I can control it and scan for the system.

    When I get home it shows up because of the IP address, but it shows it's offline. Okay, duh. So I need a connection to his computer from my house. Can I make his computer a mini server and then create some kind of VPN connection to it.

    I'm wireless at home and he's wired.

    The reason for all this is he is doing some rendering for me off video and I need to be able to check on the status as well as send and retrieve files when they are done.

    Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

    Cheers,
    William
     
  2. macrumors regular

    axboi87

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    #2
    LogMeIn

    The reason he shows as offline is that it was using his private IP while you were on his network. Outside his network it will need his public IP. With that aside, the easiest way (and free) would be to use LogMeIn.
     
  3. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    you must correctly setup port forwarding and aquire the public IP address of your friends modem, then connect via that.

    i think Team Viewer is also great in this instance :)
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    #4
    I Have the public IP..............

    I have the public IP address, as well as I use dyndns to give the IP address a domain. I also installed a program that will update the dynamic dns if his IP changes.


    Weird thing is now when I use the outside IP and I'm at his house it doesn't work. Haven't been home to see what it does at my house yet. I'll keep you posted.

    I'll try downloading log me in too.

    Cheers,
    William
     
  5. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    using the external public IP address should work no problems - it indicates that you probably have not setup port forwarding correctly or that the dydns isnt up to date.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    If you'd rather stick to Screen sharing than install LogMeIn, then it sounds as if you just need to make a port mapping on your friend's router. Make sure that TCP port 5900 is mapped through to port 5900 on the private address of your friend's machine.
     

Share This Page