VRAM,System RAM, and Allocations

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by el greenerino, Aug 3, 2003.

  1. el greenerino macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    #1
    Hey guys, switcher's first post!

    Are there any programs that allow me to allocate some of my system RAM into VRAM? I'm on an ibook 900 with only 32MB of VRAM and I want to run backlight while I'm computing.
    Thanks for reading :)

    BTW, is this even possible as a firmware hack? Does anyone know how?
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    I'm not sure I understand your question. The backlight isn't VRAM dependent. Just press F2 and it'll get brighter.
     
  3. Daveman Deluxe macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #3
    Backlight is a program that lets you use a screen saver as your desktop.

    I don't know how to allocate system RAM to VRAM, but if there is a way, it's almost certainly a firmware hack.
     
  4. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #4
    Re: VRAM,System RAM, and Allocations

    Is far as I know, it's not possible.

    arn
     
  5. Powerbook G5 macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #5
    If it were possible, I wouldn't mind popping in 2 gigs of RAM and having a good 512 Megs for video RAM! I'm pretty sure it's not possible, I've never seen or heard of it done. I know there are many Intel boards that have shared memory that pulls from one large RAM pool for system, video, audio, etc. The Xbox does this, also, to a certain degree, but I am pretty sure that the computer has to be built to support this from the start. Is 32 megs RAM a decent amount to run a screen saver on your desktop? I have 8 megs RAM, and even though it's a pitiful amount, it's surprising how well my system works with it.
     
  6. el greenerino thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    #6
    Well I just had AOL, Safari, MS Word, and iTunes running with very little slow down and I'm assuming most of the slow down came fom iTunes anyway.
    I really wanted to show off the ability of having a 'moving' desktop and still being able to compute to my PC buds :)
     
  7. Derek~san macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    #7
    You're really out of luck. Screen Effects are designed to be used when nothing else is being done on the system. Running it on your desktop will slow down any computer, so it wont' happen. Besides, VRAM is built into your graphics hardware, and rerouting it from the system memory isn't going to provide memory fast enough to keep up with the graphics chip.
     

Share This Page