Wait for Powerbook vs tax free, free ipod mini?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by MacKenzie999, Aug 18, 2005.

1. MacKenzie999 macrumors regular

Ok, here's my dilemma:
    Massachusetts had a tax-free holiday the other day, and I snagged a 15" Powerbook. With this came an iPod mini, so all told I saved about $300.
    Now I hear new PB's are due in a few weeks.

I'm wondering how many of you would return the PB, giving up the savings, in hopes that the new PB's will be significantly better?

As far as practicality goes, I could easily get by with a wimpy iBook. I have a beefy G5 for all my heavy lifting (and my lifting is heavy, I animate for a living). I just like the PB's more, I guess it's an aesthetic thing. I'm not poor, but I'm also far from made of money.

So...this is all very subjective I know, but I'm curious what any of you might do in this situation. Thanks!

2. Superhob macrumors regular

I'm in the same boat. I was about to buy a new pbook to take advantage of the free ipod, but I've decided to wait until I get some solid info about any new pbooks. Since the ipod promo expires on Sept. 24th, I'm hoping there are some leaks/rumors that spill the beans before the actual announcement in Paris.

3. persianpunisher macrumors regular

you know, if there IS a PB update, it will most certainly be minor, IMO not worth returning your Current PB and get screwed out of a free ipod mini.

4. mobi macrumors 6502

mobi

My last two PowerBook purchases were mis-timed and a new Rev was released within 1-3 months after purchasing each.

If you are happy with the purchase - load up your software and stop looking at forum posts about new Powerbook Rev's...It will drive you to insanity..trust me!

5. lfielder06 Guest