Wait for Tiger 10.4? Will Apple give recent orders free upgrade?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by chan0429, Feb 11, 2005.

1. chan0429 macrumors newbie

This is my first time ordering a Mac; I just ordered a Mac mini and found out that I get to pay for major upgrades (one coming out soon). Do I wait a few months for "Tiger" (I heard end of March) to save $129? Or do you think that Apple would have pitty on me and give me a free upgrade? Anyone have experience with this?

2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

Sun Baked

It's actually posted in about 128 threads, you get a $19.95 upgrade if you get a machine the day of (or after) "The New OS is Shipping on x day/month" announcement.

Anything else costs you $129 to get Apple to have pity on you and cough up the new OS.

3. chan0429 thread starter macrumors newbie

Any idea when they'll be making the announcement?

Just kidding, I know such things are shrowded in secrecy... I heard about the Amazon fiasco where they posted that orders would ship on March 31st (something like that). I hope they make it soon. I've already submitted my plea to customer support via the order status web page... I guess we'll see. I hope they make an announcement soon.

Thanks for the quick response.

4. lsfz88 macrumors newbie

Is the tiger going to be only on eMacs or on thw notebooks too? I am planning to buy a powerbk soon, so shall i wait or not?

5. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

The tiger will be prowling on all of Apple's current computers. :D

If you can wait, I would. If not, it will be worth the $129.

6. combatcolin macrumors 68020

combatcolin

Just wait.

Lots of rumors thats its going to be March, But more likley April - May.

What Mac are you buying?

7. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

BakedBeans

any ideas on how much tiger will be in the uk?