Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mikext

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 26, 2011
Dallas
I currently am ready to retire my late 2008 aluminum Macbook. I had intentions of buying a 13" Macbook Pro (i5, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB). I have been ready to buy a new computer and was looking to purchase one around the holidays but noticed on the macrumors buying guide, the retina MBP got relegated to the "do not buy" category.

I was just wondering if I should hold off and wait for Skylake? I am an advertising student with a year of school left. I use adobe programs but I rarely edit large image or video files so was wondering how much of an overall impact Skylake would have on overall performance, specifically something with these specs:
13" Macbook Pro (i5, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB).

cruisin

macrumors 6502a
Apr 1, 2014
Canada
The current machine is still great, but the next one will almost always be better. If you can wait until the rumoured March/April update, then it is worth it if only to not be annoyed that your new device isn't so new (in my opinion).

Since it doesn't sound like you have too many performance requirements, Skylake won't really give you much of a benefit CPU-wise (maybe a slightly better battery life). The bigger issue is the GPU, as the integrated GPU will be upgraded (part of the CPU) and the newer Adobe apps support GPU acceleration. Graphics tend to age the quickest, and seeing how you kept your 2008 model in use for a while it might be useful to wait the 4 months or so. Hope this helped.

Reactions: zachlegomaniac

nicovh

macrumors 6502
Nov 9, 2015
Nederland
If you can wait, wait.

As cruisin said, the integrated graphics will be much better and consume less power with Skylake, as for CPU performance it's just a slight boost.