Waiting for G5 PB or get G4: Pros/Cons

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by rapps, Feb 17, 2005.

1. rapps macrumors regular

Hey everyone,
    I'm debating whether to get the new increased speed 12" PB or wait for the G5's, whenever that will be. I'm new to apple...What are the forseeable advantages of waiting for the G5? I played with the new 12" at the apple store and the speed was fine to me and I'm glad they upped the SD to 8X.

Will I be able to add tiger to it when it comes out?

What will the G5 have that I'd be pissed I didn't wait for it?!

thanks

2. SteveC macrumors 6502

Hey :)

All of us seem to agree the G5 PB won't be out for quite some time.

Yes, you will be able to add Tiger to it when it comes out, and it'll run it beautifully.

The real question is: what do you want to do with your computer?

For MOST people, A G4 PB will be plenty of power.

3. SteveC macrumors 6502

P.S. There are a million topics on G5 PBs, G5 vs. G4, buy now or wait, and every combination of the three. Do a search and you'll be able to read about your same question for HOURS. ;)

4. rapps thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for the response! I'm going to be going to Law School in NY and want something that I can packup and take with me...

I'm not going to be doing any graphics or gaming. Just research, typing, internet, music, and dvd burning.

I'll check the search option for more stuff!

5. SteveC macrumors 6502

For those things, a PB G4 will "fly." :) Bump the RAM up to 768MB or 1 GB (or as much as you can afford) and it'll be an even greater joy to own.

It already comes with 512 standard, so you'd only need to buy a 256 to get to 768 or a 512 to get to 1 GB.

6. jxyama macrumors 68040

jxyama

you have nearly zero reason to wait for the G5 PB. an iBook will suffice for that.

7. nerdykarim macrumors member