wanadoo wanapoo

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Daeman, Dec 11, 2005.

  1. Daeman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Location:
    North curry/Chester Uni
    #1
    My father still uses 56K dial up at home and is finally making the change to broadband. hes not amazingly computer literate and so was just thinking of upgrading with the same ISP. This seemed a good idea as wanadoo was offering a decent service and free wireless which is perfect with me coming home from university every so often.
    The Problem: I started having a look on the site and starting to fill in the forms. and came across the following

    https://bbsignup.wanadoo.co.uk/bobsRegistration/processCode.do

    it appears it doesnt sup[port mac os x and even states this again saying the wireless wont work with mac's.
    Why is this? i thought an internet connection was an internet connection and a windows mac thing.
    Any one have any ideas?
     
  2. chaosbunny macrumors 68000

    chaosbunny

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    down to earth, far away from any clouds
    #2
    I had something similar a while ago where I live with a local provider. Of course it will work with OS X - no reason it can't, once you put the right numbers (IP, DNS, etc) in the right places. They just don't have an installation CD or guide for it since it's sooo "new", can't give any support for OS X and you'll have to figure out how to set it up manually. This can be quite difficult, maybe search the internet for a guide of someone who managed to do so. If time is on your side you might want to try it out yourself, I'm sure you'll be able to set it up but maybe it'll take some hours.
     
  3. MacSA macrumors 68000

    MacSA

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Zen internet are supposed to be Mac friendly. They are quite expensive though.
     
  4. majorp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Location:
    UK !!!
    #4
    my girlfriend had wanadoo with the live box and it DOESN'T work properly. It disconnects, sometimes really slow and ive had loads of problems with it which i never experience anywhere else. I think it should work fine with the lan connection though.
     
  5. Project macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    #5
    get yourself a third party wireless router and it SHOULD be ok...
     
  6. Koodauw macrumors 68040

    Koodauw

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Madison
    #6
    My internet provider doesn't support macs either. As you can see that hasn't really been an issue.
     
  7. plinkoman macrumors 65816

    plinkoman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    i haven't the slightest clue whether or not my isp says it supports macs or not, i've never looked, because it doesn't matter, an internet connection is an internet connection, i just plugged it in and it works, same with my router.

    the only reason they will say they don't support macs is because they don't "support" them. their support team only knows windows, they don't want calls from people with macs and not be able to answer them, or to spend money and hire a team of mac support people.

    it's just to cover their backs, but if you know anything about anything, you wont need their support anyways.
     

Share This Page