Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jason2811

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
May 8, 2006
I want to upgrade the RAM on my MacBook from 512MB to 2GB so that it will run a lot faster and smoother. I've never installed RAM on a computer and I'm not very tech savvy but I heard that process is very easy and I'll probably get someone to do it for me. Anyway, I heard that it's possible for me to bring my Macbook into an Apple store and purchase 1GB of RAM for $100 and they will install it for me. Is this true? Or would it be better for me to buy a 2GB kit of RAM from an online retail for a better choice than Apple's charging? What sites would you guys recommend? What should I do? Help me! Thanks.

dornoforpyros

macrumors 68040
Oct 19, 2004
Calgary, AB
The ram is stupid easy to upgrade in the Macbooks.

I buy ram from Crucial Memory, they make it stupid easy (just select you comp from the dropdowns. And their shipping is stupid fast.

Crucial isn't necessarily the cheapest online, but I find them to be the easiest and hassle free.

JackSYi

macrumors 6502a
Feb 20, 2005
jason2811 said:
I want to upgrade the RAM on my MacBook from 512MB to 2GB so that it will run a lot faster and smoother. I've never installed RAM on a computer and I'm not very tech savvy but I heard that process is very easy and I'll probably get someone to do it for me. Anyway, I heard that it's possible for me to bring my Macbook into an Apple store and purchase 1GB of RAM for $100 and they will install it for me. Is this true? Or would it be better for me to buy a 2GB kit of RAM from an online retail for a better choice than Apple's charging? What sites would you guys recommend? What should I do? Help me! Thanks.