Want to buy Mac Pro but...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dexum175, Jan 12, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    I want to buy a Mac Pro and so I've been looking at Apple's website, they have 3 types of Macs..

    Quad-Core - One 3.2GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon processor ($2,499)
    Server - One 3.2GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon processor ($2,999)
    12-Core - Two 2.4GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon processors ($3,799)


    I think I'll buy either the Quad-Core or the Server,... BUT anyone know any big differences between the Quad-Core and the Server? What makes the Server Mac Pro a "server"? Now I'm kinda indecisive [not buying the 12-core due to it's price] :(
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #2
    All the Mac Pro Server Has is 2Gb of more ram, an extra HDD, and Server.App preinstalled. All of this can be had easily without paying apple the extra $500.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    Very true, one thing I just noticed.. the Mac Pro Server supports up to 64GB of ram and the Quad does not? Or do both support 64GB's? :confused:
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    Don't forget you can also modify those three types. For example, you can select a single 6-core CPU instead of quad core.

    Also, don't overlook the refurbished section of Apple's website. I always look there first, and hope never to buy "brand new" from Apple again.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #5
    If you're segmenting these by CPU, then there are 3: Quad Core, 6-core, and 2x6-core. The quad core is a Nehalem, and the 6-core is Westmere (Intel architectures). Depending on what you plan to do, the 6-core could easily be faster than the dual CPU. But it's a "server" - no graphics card.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #6
    Both support up to 32GB. The 64GB option is listed on the server purchase page because you can change it to a dual-CPU option. If you add it to the cart with a dual-CPU memory choice it will announce the error.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
  8. macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #9
    Woah, thanks a lot guys, will see!

    ----------

    You guys happen to know if a new Mac Pro will be out this year? I have an iMac 27 but It's not powerful enough for my use, if so.. you think I should wait or just go for one now?
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    Well, Tim Cook hinted at a new MP possibly for this year...
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    UCD, Ireland
    #11
    Those processors are powerful but old. I'm pretty sure the current advice is to postpone until the CPU and GPU's are updated, but if you need it soon then by all means get one!
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, UK
    #12
    What Tim Cook said last year was...

    I'll be surprised if that doesn't turn into a new Mac Pro this year. Although I suspect it might not be quite as Pro as the current model.
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA USA
    #13

Share This Page