Want to get into Filming/Photo-ing but don't know where to start

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Philberttheduck, Jan 30, 2007.

1. Philberttheduck macrumors 6502a

Philberttheduck

Hi, I've been an admirer of photography and video editing for quite some time but now I've decided it's time for me to start working on it. Problem is, I don't know where to start and with what stuff to work around. My school does a piss-poor job of technology and doesn't motivate me enough to WANT to continue with the curriculum at hand when I finish a certain task.

That's where I hope this community can help me out. I'm a beginner video editor and beginner photo editor. I have the money to shell out, but I don't want to mindlessly spend it on stuff I won't be able to utilize (don't want it to overwhelm myself to the point where i just want to give up).

Video Camera? I'd like one that is future proof but it's not a priority. I just would like a good beginner->can-be-pro-in-time camera (not intimidating but not undersupplied that i want to use this camera in the future). Basically, one that's easy to learn but also has potential to be bomb.

Also, I want to get into photo. I was wondering what good cameras are out there that I can buy. Again, I'd like something easy to learn but the ability to take pro shots. I understand that lens are more important than the unit itself, so if you could tell me a bit on what lens I should purchase/etc.

btw, if need be, move this thread accordingly.

2. iMacZealot macrumors 68020