WAP Openwave Microbrowser on T720

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by rainman::|:|, Mar 25, 2003.

1. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

rainman::|:|

Hey all,

I recently got a Motorola T720 (yes, i know, but i happen to love it). It's on Freeup service, so Verizon doesn't provide WAP access (or doesn't seem to anyway, all I get is errors). I've loaded Yahoo's free WAP access into the phone and it works GREAT in that it doesn't use minutes or cost $$ to use. But I'm having a problem viewing pages. Menus will load perfectly fine, but when I try to load a page it gives me crap about TEXT/HTML source being wrong for the current media set... what gives? it's like this on any site I try (wap.nytimes.com for example)... Am I doing something wrong? Do I just not understand WAP (i'm new to it)? is Yahoo or Verizon disabling my ability to view pages correctly? I just can't believe that all of these sites are formatting their pages wrong... and Openwave seems to be a decently popular browser, so I would hope it's not unsupported...

Thanks for the help... I know it's not a Mac question but I know there are many knowledgable people around here in the area of cell phones.

Thanks!
    pnw

2. timbloom macrumors 6502a

timbloom

The WAP browser on my samsung s105 is working fine on that site, so it isn't the site causing you problems.

3. rainman::|:| thread starter macrumors 603

*bump* thanks tim...

anyone else have any ideas? i don't usually bump topics but i'm just stumped on this one-- and i can't find help anywhere. verizon says it's not their problem, yahoo barely exists anymore, openwave doesn't provide support, motorola doesn't seem to...

Thanks!
    pnw

4. ibookin' macrumors 65816

ibookin'