Warcraft 3 TFT 1.22 Patch Released

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by haiggy, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. macrumors 65816

    haiggy

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #1
    New 1.22 patch
    Ladder reset

    See the b.net site for the full changelog (nothing exciting)

    Hope it makes it so maphack no longer works, tie hack, all that garbage

    Go get playing!
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #2
    ok i havent tried playing dota yet on my mbp but does war3 still lock up after you try and quit from the main menu? are there still the "another application is using the ports" messages?
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #3
    Nothing exciting?? Are you kidding me. Very exciting!

    Two big fixes for Intel Macs! Although im not 100% sure if the sound is acutally fixed :S

    Buuut, dota sounds now work properly. yay! :)
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    haiggy

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #4

    That's not exciting.
    A new hero is exciting. ACTUAL balance changes are exciting. A twist to the game is exciting.

    A bug fix for sounds in DOTA? Who gives a crap? DOTA is TERRIBLE and for people that can't play the game it's meant to be...... go look at the Battle.net forums and see how many people are laughing at the fact that they noted 'Fixed a bug with DOTA sounds on Intel Macs' in the patch/change log.......
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #5
    Well that is your opinion.

    Blizzard obviously recognize how important DotA is to the survival of Warcraft 3. Wether you like it or not, it is a very popular game.

    And they did make some balance changes.

    Anyway, be interesting to see if War3 still crashes, have not really tested yet.


    I am just happy they fixed the sound bugs (not dota ones). I reported it in another thread here and created a video detailing the problem and sent to Blizz. Looks like Blizzard acutally fixed it. Which is nice :)
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #6
    Keep us posted on your play experiences with the new patch !
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #7
    Woot I might start playing again.

    BTW rbarris, besides firing you, what can Blizzard do to you for breaking an NDA?
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #8
    It might be more productive to just spell out which topic you are interested in asking about ?
     
  9. macrumors demi-god

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    Make him dress up as a female night elf and do 'the dance' on international television.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #10
    Well I have been playing a bit now, and it does sound like the majority of the sound issues have been fixed. However I checked the system log for anything unusual, and I am still getting errors regarding the sounds. Also the problem with the background music stopping seems to be still happening (you play a game and it only plays one track then stops);

    Code:
    Jul  1 20:53:16 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: WAVPlayer::SetWA
    Jul  1 20:53:16 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: VSourceImmediate: Failed to open [Unit
    Jul  1 20:53:16 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: s\NightElf\AncientProtector\TreantAttac
    Jul  1 20:53:16 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: k2.wav]
    Jul  1 20:53:44 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: WAVPlayer::SetWA
    Jul  1 20:53:44 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: VSourceImm
    Jul  1 20:53:44 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: ediate: Failed to open [Units\NightElf\AncientProtector\TreantAttack2.wav]
    Jul  1 20:55:34 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: WAVPlayer::SetWA
    Jul  1 20:55:34 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: VSourceImmediate: Failed to open [Units\Night
    Jul  1 20:55:34 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: Elf\AncientProtector\TreantAttack1
    Jul  1 20:55:34 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: .wav]
    Jul  1 20:55:35 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: WAVPlayer::SetWA
    Jul  1 20:55:35 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: VSourceImmediate: Failed to open [Units\Nigh
    Jul  1 20:55:35 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: tElf\AncientProtector\TreantAt
    Jul  1 20:55:35 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: tack2.wav]
    Jul  1 20:55:36 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: WAVPlayer::SetWAVSourceImmediate
    Jul  1 20:55:36 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: : Failed to open [Units
    Jul  1 20:55:36 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: \NightElf\AncientProtector\Treant
    Jul  1 20:55:36 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: Attack1.wav]
    Jul  1 20:55:37 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: WAVPlayer::SetWAVSourceImmediate: Failed to open [Units\NightElf\AncientProtector\TreantAttack2.wav]
    Jul  1 20:55:41 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: WAVPlayer::SetWAV
    Jul  1 20:55:41 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: SourceImmediate: Failed to open [Units\NightElf\AncientProtector\TreantAttack2.wav]
    Jul  1 20:55:43 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: WAVPlayer::SetWAV
    Jul  1 20:55:43 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: SourceImmediate: Failed to open [Units\NightEl
    Jul  1 20:55:43 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: f\AncientProtector\TreantAttack1.wav]
    Jul  1 20:55:57 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: WAVPlayer::SetWAVSou
    Jul  1 20:55:57 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: rceImmediate: Failed to open [Units\NightElf\An
    Jul  1 20:55:57 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: cientProtector\TreantAttack1.wav]
    Jul  1 20:56:00 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: WAVPlayer::SetWAVSourceImmediate: Failed to open [Units\NightElf\AncientProtector\TreantAttack1.wav]
    Jul  1 20:57:36 matthew-gillespies-imac [0x0-0x114114].com.blizzard.WarcraftIII[477]: WAVPlayer::SetWAVSourceImmediate: Failed to open [Units\Creeps\HeroFlameLord\FireLordMissileDeath1.wav]
    
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    #11
    I haven't figured out how to install it. When I tried to update the normal way by connecting to bnet, I got a "download failed" message, so I tried to download it from the website. I saw links to mirrored ftp sites the other day, but now they are gone.

    This link:
    http://us.blizzard.com/support/article.xml?articleId=21220
    says "Currently downloadable 1.22 patches are not available as yet, previous patches can be downloaded from our FTP page."

    So how do I install it?

    Edit to add: More specificly, it asks me to "launch BNUpate manually," but I don't know how to do that. There is a file in my warcraft folder by that name, but I don't know what to do with it. If I double click it, it tries to open it in photoshop!
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 65816

    haiggy

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #12
    Drag the patch file onto that application icon and it should run it and install it.
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #13
    Turn off your firewall.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    #14
    That was from another thread. Very helpful.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    #15
    Played one game though, and it looks like they still haven't fixed the start locations in that free for all map with 3 possible start locations on each side. In a four player game, there ought to be two players on each side (and fairly spaced in the corners). What's the point of a FFA game where 1 person has half a map to themselves and the other three start out on top of each other? Does the person with a side to themselves ever lose?
     
  16. macrumors regular

    SmartIndianKid

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #16
    I was pretty surprised when I saw this patch come out. Good work Blizzard!

    However, I still apple+m before quitting the game from the main menu. Can anyone confirm that it no longer freezes?
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #17
    Sadly, the game STILL freezes after playing for a while when you quit it. I still apple+m it too. I don't even think about it now, I just do it sub-consciously!
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #18
    Have you tried giving it like 30 seconds? On quitting mine now initially hangs for like 10 seconds and then it is fine and I'm no longer hung up.

    *shrug*
     
  19. macrumors 68020

    Xavier

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus
    #19
    I have never had a problem with WC3 freezing or anything. This update did no noticeable changes to my performance.

    Everything runs just fine.
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #20
    do you play dota a lot? thats what causes it.

    i would just like to say i am disappointed with the mac side of the patch. warcraft 3 tft still locks up my computer when i try to exit after playing a dota game. very annoying. i have to enter window mode every time i want to quit the game so that i can force quit. i sent in an error report for every crash hoping that someone would get the point. luckily i only have to play warcraft 3 on my mbp when i am away from home and i can use my pc most of the time. still i expected more. :mad:
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #21
    Did you give it 30 seconds to see if it unlocks itself?
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #22
    ive tried waiting and it does nothing. only happens after i play dota and is very annoying. i have to force quit every time i close war3.
     
  23. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #23
    The fact it only happens after DotA, means Blizzard cannot fix it. Its obviously linked to something in the DotA map. So I wouldn't blame them.
     
  24. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #24
    I have with the new permanent health bar feature. (Screenshot attached)


    MBP 2.16, Radeon X1600
     

    Attached Files:

  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #25
    its a problem with warcraft 3 itself, i dont see how it isnt something blizzard shouldnt be responsible for.
     

Share This Page