Warcraft III: Frozen Throne resolution question...

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by darkseven, May 21, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #1
    I was playing WC3:TFT with Windows on my MacBook Pro and since it doesn't support wide screen I went into the registry and changed the reswidth and resheight file to 1440 x 900. Worked perfectly fine and looked great since the image wasn't stretching anymore.

    Now that they released the new patch I have basically no need for Windows on my computer and I have removed it already. I forgot to keep one thing in mind when I did though which is, am I able to have the resolution 1440 x 900 for WC3 on Mac? Is there some registry file I can change or what not because I don't really like it when the image is distorted like that...?

    Any help appreciated, thanks! (sorry if this a noob question!)
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #2
    Yes, this is kinda noob...
    Anywasy, the newer updates for WC3 should have widescreen res supported. SO stop messing with important game files and rather just update your warcraft
     
  3. macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #3
    You'll find that WC3 supports all of the widescreen and standard resolutions that come with macs. You'll be able to set it anything from 640x480 to 1680x1080 to (i'm assuming here) 2560x1600 on the big 30 inch ACD's.

    So yes, widescreen is selectable from within the WC3 setting panel in the program.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #4
    Ah, I see. For Windows widescreen wasn't supported unless you messed with registry files, just needed to know if it was supported for Mac since I am not too familiar with that side. Thanks a lot! :)
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #5
    Mac or PC you can choose a widescreen res but the image will still be stretched in Warcraft 3... a circle will look like an oval, except that its in native res so it will be sharp looking.

    The reason for this is balance.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Xavier

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus
    #6
    Exactly. You can pick that massive resolution, but because it lets you see "more" of the playing field, they just upscale a 1024x786 screen.

    A little disappointing when I tired this, and it also makes me wonder how Blizzard is going to run Starcraft 2
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #7
    Is it possible to letter-box the image, then?
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #8
    Considering Starcraft is even more competitive and popular as an e-sport than Warcraft 3 and even more so considering Blizzard is playing it so ******* safe with Starcraft 2 for the sake of not ruining the balanced gameplay (they even tout "tightly balanced competitive gameplay" as a feature) that I'm 99% sure Starcraft 2 will be a 4:3 only game, 16:9 players would have a big advantage and Blizzard doesn't want to take the slightest friggin risk in SC2, I'm surprised they are even adding new units at all god forbid Starcraft 2 isn't any more than a glorified Starcraft expansion.

    Yes you can if you have an nvidia card, select no scaling on the lcd scaling options on the control panel, set wc3 to the highest 4:3/5:4 resolution it can do and you'll have black borders on the sides but the image will display correctly.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #9
    can you do it on OSX?
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Will_reed

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #10
    Starcraft 2 will most certainly have widescreen support.
    Why do I know this? Because the demo video on the site of starcraft 2 gameplay is 16:9 thats why!
     
  11. macrumors regular

    zimtheinvader

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    the capitol
    #11
    Widescreen?

    Doesn't WoW support widescreen?

    Also, maybe it will be a game-by-game MP option, (as one of the options when setting up a game), and support it in single player. If not, that would make a lot of people with nice expensive widescreens sad if such a modern game neglected to "support" their system.
    (Add'n rant:) I still don't understand what happend to SC:Ghost, I wish they would revive it eventually as a MMOrpg/FPS like WoW...

    Re: the video, the Iphone had TV-out in the last video I saw, but that didn't happen in the consumer build ;)
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #12
    So what? Most pro players play at 1024x768 and Starcraft II is a game for the pros (and the korean) not regular gamers...

    If widescreen resolutions would give you a bigger field of view then it would give some players unfair advantages.

    Its a given fact that Starcraft II will only have on aspect ratio and thats 4:3 because the 4:3 userbase is bigger than the 16:10 userbase and god forbid Starcraft II is the slightest bit imbalanced...

    To be honest, most of the hype I had for Starcraft II seems to have died down now whenever Blizzard talks about it it just seems like they are talking about an e-sport and not a game.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #13
    hey chone. Can you do this in Mac OSX? or it's only for windows?
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #14
    I don't think so, nvidia doesn't have a dedicated control panel for OSX :(
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    afk
    #15
    I think it's pretty easy to enforce one aspect ratio during competition, it wouldn't be good sense in the current market to just to make games for the 4:3 ratio, they should be supporting 4:3, 16:9 so on.
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    #16
    I also want to remove the stretching in Mac OS X. I never thought i would be saying this: "I want black bars on the sides!"
     
  17. macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #17
    I got used to it within 2 custom games.

    I just dont dwell on everyone being a little fatter.

    McDs must be open in Azeroth.
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    Tom B.

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #18
    I never realised that higher resolutions of WarCraft III don't increase the viewable map area. That was one of the things that i was looking forward to the most about upgrading from my 12" PowerBook to a MacBook/Pro! And no widescreen! Grrr! :mad: This better be changed in StarCraft II!
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #19
    What about b.net? Do you think we need even more punks whining about imbalance on forums?

    Plus many leagues are played online and you really can't control stuff in those cases...

    I'm 99.99% sure Starcraft II will be a 4:3/5:4 only game.
     
  20. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Downtown Jigoku
    #20
    Hahaha!!! Naaah!
     

Share This Page