Warhammer, macbook or macbook pro?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Syn-, Jul 29, 2006.

1. Syn- macrumors newbie

Hey, I'm a uni student looking at my options for a laptop for the start of school. I have been looking at macs seriously because of the screen quality, the build and the ability to use both XP and OSX.

I'm not a big gamer, but there are some games I seriously would like my laptop to be able to play. One of these games is Warhammer Dawn of war, or Winter Assault or Mark of chaos (whichever expansion you prefer:) ) Now I really feel like the macbook pro is to big for me and i dont need the graph card. But I'm afraid that playing the game on a regular macbook, which fits my other needs perfectly, will not be enjoyable.

From checking intel's site,
    http://www.intel.com/support/graphics/intel945gm/sb/CS-021400.htm
    You can see that warhammer is said to be compatible with the intergrated graphic in the macbook, but I would rather have some details from people actually running it on a regular macbook. How well is the action, is there any lag in multiplayer, etc.

Any comments or feedback is appreciated.

2. Syn- thread starter macrumors newbie

I'm in a real hurry to buy this mac, which must be at my home before next saturday. Could anyone be nice enough to test out this game on their regular macbook? It would be much appreciated.:cool:

3. MacsomJRR macrumors 6502a

MacsomJRR

If you want to play any of the games that you mentioned with decent graphics and speed your gonna have to get a Macbook Pro with the extra graphics capability. I'm on a MBP and it handles those games perfectly in Windows (via Bootcamp).

The integrated graphics chip in the intel Macbooks will just barely squeeze by but the games won't be as enjoyable.

4. Syn- thread starter macrumors newbie