Warhammer Online on an iMac w/ 8800 GS ?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by slffl, Aug 22, 2008.

  1. macrumors 65816

    slffl

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #1
    I just installed the Warhammer Beta on my 24" iMac 2.4Ghz w/ Radeon 2600 at 1920x1080. It runs okay, but it's not even close to smooth.

    I'm wondering if anyone has tried Warhammer yet on a new 24" iMac with the nVidia 8800 GS? How does it run at native res with High Quality graphics settings?
     
  2. macrumors member

    Gooter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #3
    I have had my ce copy preordered for months. Shame UK donesn't get to play Preview Weekend.

    I have a Macbook Pro 2.5Ghz with 512mb 8600 GT. I would (also) like to know how it runs on this Mac if possible please.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #4
    The video card in the Imac with the ATI 2600 is what is hurting you the most there - thats the one I have - it runs ok on it but you have to turn down that high quality a good bit - also I use non boot camp drivers (hacked Omega ones )

    The newer Imacs with the 8800 don't have any problems with it - friend of mine has that as main rig and in boot camp can run the WAR beta at 1920x1200 without problem - again using drivers not from bootcamp or apple but updated beta ones
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    slffl

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    I'm playing on Windows Vista. Do you think Windows XP would make it run any better?
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #6
    I run Vista on the beefiest machines , but I'd advise trying XP on the Imac with the 2600 and make sure and get updated video drivers and not the boot camp ones - should help it be playable at least
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    #7
    I use a 20" iMac with an ATI card (2600), running XP. You are right the current boot camp drivers are not going to work with Warhammer Online. I tried. Its not playable. Which updated drivers do you mean?

    On a side note, my Wife's MacBook Pro ran it well enough. Without any of the video issues that I experienced.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #8
    My iMac with ATI (2400 or 2600. Cant recall which one it is. Last gen default 20" card.) ran it perfectly fine with the latest Boot Camp drivers from ATI. The only noticable graphics glitch was when I was in a scenario and off in the distance you get a weird little clipping like view. Like if you played a fps and turned clipping off to walk through walls. But it was minimal and did not impair my game play at all.

    Unless the ATI Tray Tools I installed also provided new drivers which I don't think it did.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    #9

    I got dumped a few times before i realized what was happening. I updated to the newest drivers I could find on the ATI site which helped but it would still occasionally stutter hard and then I'd end up staring at a low res desktop. I am going to try Omega drivers during open beta and see if that helps. I didn't have a lot of time to play with it so any suggestions/info would be hot.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    soms

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Location:
    Eugene
    #10
    Vista is part of the problem for right now because it alone takes up a ton of memory and the game right now in debug mode takes up 1 gig. Once it goes live it will be around 300-500mb of memory.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #11
    Little Question

    Hmmm Thanks 4 the info that sounds like it might fix my problem. One question though. (I'm using Windows Vista btw) Should I hop on vista and dl the new drives or stay on Mac to do it? Or do I select the bootcamp thing they have? the Bootcamp option though only supports Xp
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    #12
    Also keep in mind that the game's still in open beta. Performance on your machine will be better once it is fully released.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #13
    hmm.. I am glad to have found this thread.. I was almost pursuaded to buy /make a winxp gaming rig just to play this game.. everything I have read says you need a 8800 GT card..

    I think I am being way to critical.. right now I am using .. a G5 20" Imac.. 2 gig ram.. and I can only play WoW.. at 18 fps.. so..

    anything would be better..

    I will wait and see the results you guys get.. I have the game installed and ready on my old winxp machine with a radeon 9550 lol
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    elmariachi5150

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #14
    Hi,
    I have MacBook Pro 2,4 Ghz C2D, GeForce 8600GT 256 MB, with 4GB RAM.
    I'm running WAR since the Beta on Windows Vista, with all settings on max, on 1440x990. RvR War with many players are no problems. Frames are always around 50. WAR ist a Dualcore optimized game. Any graphic card, with at least up to 256 Meg should be fine.
     
  15. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #15
    Got my collectors edition sat on my lap as we speak... won't be able to install it until tonight tho.

    Phazer
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #16
    It is still running fine on my ATI 2600 Mobility 128 MB card. I got spell effects set to self only which makes RvR handle fairly well. No major hiccups at least in New Emeskrank(sp?) RvR area.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #17
    stick with WoW guys, support the company that supports us
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #18
    No thanks. I prefer having fun rather than making a statement.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #19
    I have a 24-in iMac with the 3GHz CPU, nVida 8800-something video card, and 4GB RAM. I installed Vista Home Premium OEM via Bootcamp on a 100MB partition.

    I'm running WAR with my game settings cranked up, and I have had ZERO problems. It's really rock solid.

    My only gripe is that I spend more time now in Vista and less time than I'd like with OSX.
     
  20. macrumors member

    FlavaFlavez

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #20
    Kick ass to hear this.
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #21
    What are the Reqs for War? Has anybody tried running WAR on the new Fusion?
     
  22. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #22
    If WoW had decent PvP or even knew what RvR was I might , but since WAR currently > WoW in a huge way in anything RvR or PvP related I'd rather not suffer through it any more -

    No thanks
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #23
    Not going to happen - between video acceleration req's and other issues even Fusion 2.0 can't fire it up
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #24
    I use WAR on an imac 20" RADEON HD2600.

    to make it work with a decent framrate I had to crank down to almost lowest graphic details. by doing so everything works fine though.

    the major problem I experience are frequent crashes of the game.

    I run the game with bootcamp drivers right now - so I'll give updated ones from ATI a try and after that will install OMEGA drivers if that won't help... I really hope it will help though. A crash every half an hour is major a pain in the.....
     
  25. thread starter macrumors 65816

    slffl

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #25
    I'm running at 1920x1200 on a 24" iMac, 2.4ghz, 4GB RAM, Radeon 2600, Windows XP, ATI video drivers, WAR Live version 1.0.

    I have everything set to max and it runs flawlessy!!!!
     

Share This Page