*warning, n00b question* Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by MUCKYFINGERS, Jul 15, 2005.

  1. MUCKYFINGERS macrumors 6502a

    MUCKYFINGERS

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Location:
    CA
    #1
    Don't flame me, now, I've been a PC guy for 13 years of my life now...

    Airport Extreme = wireless internet receiver, right? so in other words, my wireless router will be able to send signals to the airport extreme card in the iBook i'm planning on getting and it will have wireless internet, right?
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    That's correct!

    BTW, the quote in your signature is by philosopher George Santayana.
     
  3. MacNoobie macrumors 6502a

    MacNoobie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado
    #3
    I've got a Airport Extreme base station and more or less can function as a wireless router (imho a simple one) and a wireless reciever. You can set the Airport to join your current wireless network and just be a client so it can connect wirelessly to your router and share internet though I havent had any luck connecting cat5 from my laptop to the Airport and having it join my current wireless network and share it. I think it also states in the settings that if you choose to join a current wireless network it will disable cat5 for some reason.
     
  4. MUCKYFINGERS thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MUCKYFINGERS

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Location:
    CA
    #4
    Well, I'm currently using Comcast Cable internet and I've got the cable modem hooked up to a wireless router. When I get my iBook 14", it should be able to detect the wireless network and surf the net out of the box, right?
     
  5. Zman5225 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    Tacoma WA
    #5

    Yep should work just like that.
     
  6. MUCKYFINGERS thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MUCKYFINGERS

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Location:
    CA
    #6
    Alright, cool guys, thanks!
     
  7. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #7

    Check your network settings. You can set the priority of different network devices. I have mine FireWire/Ethernet/Airport mostly, but different Locations I have set up differently.

    Remember:
    Airport Extreme is 802.11g
    Airport Express is 802.11g mobile base station
    Airport Extreme Base Station is.... well... duh.
     
  8. MUCKYFINGERS thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MUCKYFINGERS

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Location:
    CA
    #8
    802.11g airport extreme card is still compatible with my 802.1b wireless router, right?
     
  9. dukeblue91 macrumors 65816

    dukeblue91

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #9
    Yes it is backwards compatible.
     
  10. tuartboy macrumors 6502a

    tuartboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #10
    I think it uses the wireless first, but I know the ethernet is not disabled. I use wireless to connect to the internet at work and keep the ethernet plugged in so i can print to the RIP.

    Also, Muckyfingers, I found your sig rather humorous. Jim Jones and the kool-aide kids. They sure aren't going to repeat that mistake! :p
     
  11. MUCKYFINGERS thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MUCKYFINGERS

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Location:
    CA
    #11
    I find my signature pretty damn funny too!!!
     
  12. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #12

    Go to System Preferences->Network

    That is the current status of your connections. Example, Ethernet has a higher priority than wireless, but I mainly connect wireless. This means I plug a cable in and it auto-swaps to use Ethernet instead of wireless.
     

Share This Page