WARNING: Pro Apps will NOT run on Intel Macs.

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by MovieCutter, Jan 13, 2006.

  1. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #1
    WARNING Pro Apps will NOT run on the new Intel Macs. In order to get Pro Apps to run on the new intel macs, you MUST purchase the crossgrade discs. They will not install on Intel Macs...just wanted to let the other pros out there know.
     
  2. Oryan macrumors 6502a

    Oryan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    #2
    From the Apple site:
     
  3. MovieCutter thread starter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    I realize that Apple is updating them in March, but they WILL NOT even run under Rosetta, in case anyone didn't realize that. and the multiple threads thing wasn't intentional. Just saw that on the Apple site, but I've been reading a lot of people who think it will run....so just a bulletin FYI.
     
  4. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #4
    so, where is this info from? That the pro apps won't even install under Intel machines?

    arn
     
  5. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #5
    March 31st ehhh? I was sort of expecting an update to Final Cut Studio/Express before then....
     
  6. skimaxpower Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #6
    APPLE: New Intel Chips are 4x faster!!

    USER: Sweet!! Intel Chips are 4x faster!! My render times are only 1/4 as long!!

    APPLE: Oh? You want to render??
     
  7. MovieCutter thread starter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #7

    That's basically how it went down.
     
  8. mnstr_trd_sd macrumors regular

    mnstr_trd_sd

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Location:
    san diego, ca.
    #8
    haha!:p that's exactly what i was thinking:D
     
  9. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #9
    http://www.apple.com/rosetta/

     
  10. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #10
    lol hahaha. its ok, nobody uses macs to edit with anyway. :p
    Windows Media Player FTW
     
  11. Sayer macrumors 6502a

    Sayer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #11
    The pro apps are more than likely heavily dependent on G5 or G4 and the AltiVec units specifically.

    More than likely there are large pieces of the pro apps that require a real G5/G4 proc. to run.

    Besides there isn't a pro desktop capable of really running the pro apps anywhere decently yet. And really, would a pro immediately jump on v1.0 of completely new hardware and essentially the OS (since it is new to running "in the wild" on x86 Macs)?
     
  12. Dark macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #12
    The reason why Apple isnt showing urgency with the Pro-Apps is because the new PowerMacs arent expected till the end of the year anyway. Most iMac consumors arent going to be usuing Final Cut Pro.
     
  13. maxterpiece macrumors 6502a

    maxterpiece

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    #13
    can't they just optimize them for MMX now instead of altivec? :p
     
  14. firewire2001 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    running the pro apps on x86

    In Final Cut Pro (and in most applications), if you open the Application's package, there is a file called "Info.plist" under the "Contents" folder. If you open this file up, you will notice a line which reads, among other things, "AELRequiredCPUType" for which the value is "G4" and "AELMinimumCPUSpeedSingle" for which the value is something like "500".
     
  15. skimaxpower Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #15
    You make a decent point, but I still think its pretty tacky for Apple to release Intel chips and FCP 6.0 on the same day - and NOT have them work together.

    Plus, there's a LOT of mobile filmmakers out there (myself included) who've been rendering on a g4 chip for years. It's pretty lame to suddenly brag about the speed of the new MacBook - about damn time - and then tell us we can't do anything useful with it.

    I fell like a donkey with a carrot dangling six inches in front of my mouth.
     
  16. theknowles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #16
    this is something that has been driving me crazy,
    so is there absolutely no way to run fcp 5/6 on the new macbooks? and are apple going to do anything about it because i need a new laptop and was going for a powerbook untill this popped up, but what the hell is the point in having a 4x faster mac when all its going to do is upload peoples myspace pics quicker?:confused:
     
  17. runplaysleeprun macrumors 6502a

    runplaysleeprun

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #17
    The new macbooks wont be available for another month, and realistically, probably wont be in enough numbers, so most consumers wont get theirs till mid march. it wont be too hard to wait the few weeks for the versions that will work.
     
  18. Rocksaurus macrumors 6502a

    Rocksaurus

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #18

    This sounds like a cool trick but I'm about 99% sure that the reason these apps don't run under Rosetta is because they rely on Altivec...
     
  19. vouder17 macrumors 6502a

    vouder17

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Location:
    Home
    #19
    I personally believe that if you are a pro user you are already gonna know this...
    Even I as a consumer knows this :confused:
     
  20. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #20
    You know why everything did not come out all at once in January?
    The answer is simple: Apple only has 5,000 or so emplyees and they
    can only be made to work about 60 hours a week. Give them credit.
    They are _months_ ahead of schedule. The target date for the first
    Intel Mac was June.

    Also there is a serious problem with Intel. What Intel CPU could they
    use that is four times faster then a quad core G5 Power Mac? They
    have to wait untill Intel builds something. They will. Just today
    Intel announced they are ending the "Pentium" brand name. I
    assume they will announce something else but today we hear
    just "no more Pentium" They will use model numbers from now
    on. Intel needs to realese an Opteron-like CPU chip before Apple
    can replace the Power Mac's G5. It should happen by year end.
     
  21. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #21
    Apple released FCP 6?


    Lethal
     
  22. Sharewaredemon macrumors 68000

    Sharewaredemon

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Breton Island
    #22

    I was wondering about that as well...
     
  23. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #23
    The fact that altivec is unsupported on Rosetta doesn't deter you at all then? Good luck! :rolleyes:
     
  24. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #24
    It's a transition guys...some things don't work, things released together don't worth together, things are being expected at certain dates...that's how most transitions go. Give it time.
     
  25. skimaxpower Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #25
    What? You didn't get a copy in the mail? :)

    er, my bad. I was way off. Not released yet. So, um, lets just hope FCP 6 is as good as the hype.
     

Share This Page